EPISODE 32 - The Fall

Previously on FALCON CREST:

----------------Richard began looking for ways to push Lance back out of Falcon Crest.

----------------Elena overheard Emma Ryland talking to baby Logan and became suspicious of her.

----------------Angela went to see Kyle to find out something about him.  Later, Angela schemed to get in touch with Kyle's mother, Sydney, and bring her to the Tuscany Valley.

----------------At the Harper farm in Texas, Kasey Harper poured a cup of hot coffee on Brian Manning, allowing Austin to tackle Brian.  The two brothers wrestle for Brian's gun, which discharged, injuring Josh Harper.  

----------------Angela called Sydney, who agreed to come to the Valley.

Falcon Crest....morning....

 Emma Ryland is coming down the hall at Falcon Crest late in the morning, just as Elena is coming up the stairs.  The two women stop and look at each other for a second.  "Elena,"  Emma says.

 

"Emma,"  Elena says, coldly.  

 

"Why are you looking at me that way?"  Emma asks.

 

"Just wondering what's going through that head of yours."

 

"What's that supposed to mean?"

 

"Emma, we need to talk,"  Elena says.  

 

Emma smiles.  "I don't think you and I have anything to talk about.  Now, if you'll excuse me."  Emma starts to walk past her, but Elena steps in front of her, blocking her way to the stairs.  "Get out of my way,"  Emma says.

 

"Not until we talk,"  Elena says.

 

Emma sighs.  "Alright, FINE.  What is so important?"

 

"I heard you on the phone last night.  When you were talking to Ann.  I know the truth, Emma.  I know that Kevin was not Logan's father."

 

Emma's heart sinks.  "I don't know what you're talking about."

 

"Yes, you DO know what I'm talking about.  Kevin was not that baby's father, and the real father is one of the Ewings."

"You really are delusional,"  Emma says.  "You have no idea what you're talking about."

 

"Stop lying to me, Emma.  Or is it yourself that you're lying to? So who is your baby's father?  Is it Lucas?  Or John Ross?"

 

"Elena, just mind your own damned business and stay the hell out of mine, or you'll be sorry."

 

"Sorry?  And what are you gonna do, Emma?"

 

"Just stay out of my business,"  Emma angrily says.

 

"This family deserves to know the truth.  That baby's real father deserves to know that he has a son."

 

"The way that John Ross deserved to know that YOUR son was alive and well after you told him his child was dead?  You're a hypocritical bitch, Elena."

 

"Michael's brother went to his grave believing a lie.  Richard believes that child is his grandson.  Well, I'm going to tell him the truth and I can't wait until he kicks you out of Falcon Crest." 

 

Elena turns and starts to go downstairs, but Emma grabs her by the arm.  "You're not going to say a WORD to Richard or anyone else."

 

"Let go of my arm."

 

"No!"

 

Elena quickly slaps Emma across the face as hard as she can, hard enough to knock Emma into the wall, getting her to release her grip on Elena's arm.  As Elena again tries to proceed down the stairs, Emma grabs her by the hair.  Elena lets out a scream, and the two women struggle for a few seconds on the staircase.  Suddenly, both women lose their balance.  As Emma falls and lands at the top, where the hallway meets the staircase, Elena falls backward and tumbles all the way down the stairs, landing at the bottom.  Just seconds after Elena falls, Angela and Angie come into the foyer.  

 

"Oh my God!"  Angie yells.  "Elena!"  She rushes to her sister-in-law, who lays unconscious at the bottom of the stairs in the foyer.  "Elena?"

 

Emma Ryland rushes halfway down the stairs and sees Elena laying at the bottom, Angie kneeling over her trying to wake her.  Standing next to Elena, Angie looks up and sees Emma on the stairs, a frightened look on Emma's face.  After a pause of a few seconds, Emma runs down the stairs.  

 

"Emma, what happened?"  Angie asks.

 

"I.....I dunno.....she just fell,"  replies a nervous and frightened Emma.

 

"Call an ambulance,"  Angie says.

 

Angela quickly takes her cell phone out of her pocket and dials 911.

A short time later....

 

 

 

An ambulance speeds down the highway headed toward Queen Of The Valley Hospital in the Tuscany Valley, carried an injured Elena.  

 A few minutes later, the ambulance pulls into Queen Of The Valley Hospital.  Two paramedics get out, open the back doors of the ambulance and unload Elena on a stretcher, quickly wheeling her into the emergency department.

Del Oro Spa, Health Club, and Resort....

 Kyle Griffin is taking some food from the microwave in his room at Del Oro when someone knocks on his door.  Kyle places his food on the table, then walks to the door.  When he opens it, he is surprised to see his mother.  "Mom?  What are you doing here?"

 

"Is that all I get?  No, 'hi, Mom, it's really great to see you,'?"  Sydney asks.  "Well, aren't you gonna ask me in?"

 

"Sure.  Come in,"  Kyle says.  He steps aside and Sydney walks into the suite.  Kyle closes the door and turns to his mother.  "How'd you find me?"

 

"I got a call from Angela St. James.  She told me where you were."

 

Kyle smiles.  "Angela St. James.  Yeah, she's a real piece of work.  I guess she probably got your number from her mother."

 

"She asked me to come here to surprise Emma on her birthday, but, I got the feeling it was much more than that.  Kyle, why are YOU here?"

 "I came here to find out about my father,"  Kyle replies.  "And hopefully, to maybe FIND my father."

 

"You saw Richard Channing?"  Sydney asks.

 

"Yes, I did."

 

"And?  What'd you think of him?"

 

"Well, he's everything you said he was.  An arrogant jerk.  He even doubted that I was his grandson."

 

"That's not surprising,"  Sydney says.  

 

"I'm not giving up, Mom.  I'm gonna find Danny Sharpe.  And what about you?  Aren't you curious?  Don't you wanna see my father again after all these years?"

 

"I........I really don't know, Kyle.  I'm not even sure Danny would remember me after so many years.  He's probably had a lot of girlfriends since me."

 

"I wonder he has other kids,"  says Kyle.  "Who knows, I may have a brother or sister out there somewhere.  I don't know how, Mom, but somehow, I'm gonna find my father and prove myself to Richard Channing."

 

"Then, if that's what you want, I'll help,"  Sydney says.  "I wanna go out to Falcon Crest.  I wanna see my old friend Emma.  She was the only person who showed me much kindness when I lived there."

 

Kyle smiles, then embraces his mother.

Queen Of The Valley Hospital....

Michael rushes into the emergency department of Queen Of The Valley Hospital.  As he heads toward the nurse's desk, Angie, sitting in a waiting area down the hall, sees her brother and approaches him.  "Michael," she says.

 

"Angie, where is she?  Where's Elena?  What the hell happened?"

 

"She's in the emergency room.  I think the doctor's with her now."

 

"Well, what happened to her?  You said on the phone that she fell?"

 

"Yes, down the stairs at Falcon Crest,"  Angie says. 

 

"How'd it happen?"  Michael asks.

 

"I don't know.  Angela and I heard some yelling, and then a scream, and then the sound of Elena falling down the stairs.  We rushed into the foyer and she was laying at the bottom of the stairs.  Emma was on the stairs."

 

"Emma?  Which Emma?"  Michael asks.  "Aunt Emma or Emma Ryland?"

 

"Emma Ryland,"  Angie replies.  "Michael, I think they were arguing about something."

 

"Arguing?  About what?"

 

"I don't know, I couldn't hear."

 

A doctor comes down the hall and approaches them.  "Excuse me, are you here with Elena Channing?"

 

"Yes, I'm her husband,"  Michael says.  "How is she?"

 

"Your wife has sustained a very serious concussion, Mr. Channing, as well as a sprained wrist and some minor bruises," the doctor replies.

 

"Will she be alright?"

 

"She's still unconscious.  We'll be able to tell more when she wakes up."

 

"Can I see her?"  Michael asks.

 

"Yes, of course,"  the doctor says.  "Right this way."

 

"Michael, I'll wait here,"  Angie says as her brother follows the doctor down the hall.  Just then, Emma Ryland walks into the hospital and approaches Angie.  "Emma, what are you doing here?"

 

"I came to see how Elena's doing.  Is she okay?"

 

Angie crosses her arms and looks at her.  "Do you really care?"

 

"Of course, I care.  What kind of a question is that?"

 

"How'd she fall, Emma?"  Angie asks.  "And what were the two of you arguing about at the top of the stairs?"

 

"Elena's fall was an ACCIDENT,"  Emma says.  

 

"You didn't answer my first question.  What were you arguing about?"

 

"That's none of your business,"  Emma replies.

 

"Elena hasn't woken up yet,"  says Angie.  "When she does, you'd better hope and pray that she's alright, and that she says her fall was an accident.  If not.......then I'd hate to be in your shoes, Emma."  Angie turns and walks away from her, leaving Emma worried.

A private jet en route nearing San Francisco....

 Meanwhile, Christopher and Courtney Ewing are aboard a private jet flying to San Francisco.  "Well, we'll be arriving in San Francisco in about half an hour,"  Christopher says.

 

"I'm not really looking forward to it,"  says Courtney.

 

"I thought this was what you wanted.  For me to be able to adopt Jacob."

 

"It IS.  I'm just not looking forward to dealing with Chase about this.  We've been able to avoid any kind of confrontation with him for months.  And now......"

 

Christopher reaches over and takes his wife's hand.  "It'll be okay.  We're gonna just talk to Chase, and try and make him see that this is the best thing for Jacob."

 

"I hope that Chase will see reason,"  Courtney says, looking out the window at the sky outside.

The Gioberti Home....

  Joseph and Chase are jogging down the sidewalk in front of the Gioberti home that afternoon, on their way back to the house.  Reaching the front gate of the stately home, Joseph suddenly stops.  "Hey, hold up," he says, breathing hard.  "You gotta me give a minute.  Whew!  You're about to kill me here.  I'm 35-years-old, not as 

young as I use to be, and not as young as my kid brother.  Why are you pushing so hard today, anyway?  You trying to give us both heat strokes?"

 

"Sorry,"  Chase says, also out of breath from vigorous exercise.  "Just got carried away."  He takes out his earphones.

 

"Chase, what's bothering you today?"  Joseph asks.  "Talk to me."

 

"It's Courtney."

 

"Courtney Ewing?"

 

"Yeah, Courtney Ewing,"  replies Chase.  "She and her husband Christopher are coming out here from Dallas today."

 

"Oh?  They bringin' Jacob?"

 

"No.  They'r coming to talk to me about something.  I'm pretty sure I know what it is."

 

"And what do you think it is?"  Joseph asks.

 

"I think they're coming to talk to me about my custody suit."

 

"I thought you had dropped that.  You'd decided that Jacob was better off living in Dallas with Courtney and her husband."

 

Chase shakes his head.  "I just put it on hold.  After all that stuff that happened with the custody battle with Jacob's adoptive parents, and the kidnapping, I didn't wanna add to my son's trauma.  So, I let Courtney and Christopher take him back to Dallas and I've kept my distance.  I even agreed not to go and see Jacob at Christmas, even though it tore me apart not to."

 

"If that's why they're coming, then what are you gonna tell them?"

 

Chase looks at his older brother.  "I plan to go ahead with my case.  Probably this summer.  I think enough time has passed."

 

"You sure that's the right thing to do, little brother?  That little boy has lived with his mother and her husband for several months now.  You sure you wanna uproot him, after all he's been through?"

 

"He's my SON, Joseph.  Courtney kept me from him for ten years.  Don't I deserve to be a father to my own kid?"

 

"Of course you do, I'm not saying otherwise. If Jacob were my son, I'd wanna be a father to him, also.  What I AM saying, though, at least go for joint custody, not full."

 

"Joint custody would be even harder for Jacob than uprooting him, because he would have to constantly be shuffled between California and Texas. I was cheated out of the first decade of my son's life.  I'm not gonna lose anymore time with him."  Chase jogs away from his brother and goes through the front gate leading to the Gioberti mansion.  Joseph pauses a moment, then follows him to the house.

Queen Of The Valley Hospital.....afternoon....

Michael is sitting at Elena's bedside in her hospital room at Queen Of The Valley Hospital that afternoon, when a knock sounds at the door and Richard walks in.  "Michael," he says.

 

"Dad, come in,"  Michael says softly.

 

Richard walks over to his son.  "I got here as soon as I heard.  How is she?"

 

"Doctor thinks she'll be fine.  They're gonna keep her here for a couple of days because of the concussion."

 

"How did this happen?"  Richard asks.

 

Michael stands to his feet to face his father.  "I'm not real sure.  Angie said that Elena and Emma Ryland were arguing at the top of the stairs.  Emma was here earlier, and I asked her what happened, and she swears that Elena accidentally lost her balance and fell."

 

"You have any reason to think differently?"

 

"I honestly don't know, Dad.  Angie believes that Emma pushed Elena."

 

"Why in hell would she do that?"  Richard asks.

 

"I don't know.  I have no idea what they were even arguing about,"  Michael says, just as Elena moans.  Michael quickly leans over his wife and touches her hand.  "Elena?  Elena, can you hear me?"

 

Slowly, Elena opens her eyes and looks at her husband.  "Michael?"

 

"Yes, sweetheart, I'm here."

 

"Wha.......what happened?  Where am I?"  Elena sleepily asks.

 

"You're in the hospital."

 

"Hospital?"

 

"Yes, sweetheart,"  says Michael.  "Don't you remember what happened?  You fell down the stairs at Falcon Crest."

 

Elena touches her head, and thinks back to earlier that morning.  In her mind, she sees flashes of memory of her confrontation with Emma Ryland earlier in the day.  "I, ummm.......I'm not exactly sure," she says.  

 

"Elena, it's alright,"  says Richard.  

 

"Elena, were you arguing with Emma when you fell?"  Michael asks.

 

"I.......I think so."

 

"What were you arguing about?"  

 

Elena again thinks back to that morning.  "It, umm.......it was......nothing," she replies.  "You know, Emma and I have never really gotten along that well, even when we both lived in Dallas."

 

"So, the two of you argued, and you fell accidentally?"  Richard asks.

 

Elena looks at him and nods.  "I think so.  My memory is very fuzzy and my head hurts."

 

"Would you like for me to tell the nurse to bring you something for pain?"  Richard asks.

 

"Yes, thank you."

 

Richard smiles.  "Alright.  I'm going to go home and let you get some more rest.  I'll stop by the nurse's station on my way out and let the nurse know you're awake and in need of something for pain."

 

"Thank you, Richard,"  Elena says.  

 

"You're welcome.  Get well soon, and come home.  I'll check back in later."

 

"Thanks for coming by, Dad,"  Michael says as his father walks out.    He takes Elena's hand and looks at her.  "You scared me half to death."

 

"I'm sorry."

 

Michael clutches her hand tightly.  "Elena, are you sure there's nothing more to what happened this morning?  You can't remember what you and Emma were arguing about?"

 

"No.  Not......exactly.  I'm so sleepy."  

 

At that moment, the doctor and a nurse walks in.   "Well, Mrs. Channing,"  the doctor says.  "We were told that you're awake.  How do you feel?"

 

"Sleepy.  And my head hurts."

 

"Okay, well, the nurse will get you some pain medication,"  the doctor says as he looks into Elena's eyes with a light.  "Your pupils looks good."

 

"How long will I have to stay here?"  Elena asks.

 

"Oh, just a couple days,"  the doctor replies.  "We wanna keep an eye on you with that concussion, and to run some more tests."

 

"More tests?"  Michael asks.  "Why?"

 

The doctor looks at him.  "Our first blood tests showed something," he says, then looking at Elena. 

 

"Your tests showed something?"  Michael asks, becoming concerned.

 

"What?"  Elena asks.  "My blood tests?  What did they show?  Is something wrong with me?"

 

"I wouldn't say that there's anything wrong with you," the doctor says.  "But you do have a condition that we need to monitor, especially right now, after the fall.  Mrs. Channing........you're pregnant."

 

Michael and Elena look at each other in shock.

Falcon Crest....

A car pulls up in front of Falcon Crest late that afternoon.  Sydney and her son Kyle get out of the car.  As they walk up the steps and onto the front porch, Sydney looks around, her mind filled with memories of this place where she spent only a short time many years ago.  

 

"Mom?  Are you okay?"  Kyle asks.

 

"Yes, I'm fine.  It's just.......being back here stirs up so many memories.  Mostly bad ones.  It's amazing, it still looks almost the same as it did 28 years ago.  Bracing herself emotionally, Sydney walks to the front door and rings the doorbell."

 

"This sure is a beautiful place,"  Kyle says.  "Hard to believe this place is part of my heritage."

 

"You were conceived in this house,"  Sydney says, as the door opens.  Turning around, Sydney and Emma Channing come face to face for the first time in years.  

 

"Sydney?"  Emma Channing asks.

 

Sydney smiles.  "Hello, Emma."

 

"Oh my Lord,"  Emma says.  "Sydney, I don't believe it."  Emma gives her old friend and former sister-in-law a hug.  "Sydney, I'm so glad to see you."

 

"Emma, you look wonderful."

 

"Hah, for a woman of my age?"

 

"Now, stop that, you aren't that old."

 

"Oh, why in the world are we standing out here?  Please, come in,"  Emma Channing says.  Sydney and Kyle walk into the house and Emma closes the door.  

 

Sydney looks around.  "This house still looks exactly the same as I remember it."

 

"Well, nothing around here ever changes a whole lot, at least not in appearance."

 

"Happy early birthday, Emma,"  Sydney says.

 

"Thank you.  Oh, and you must be Kyle."

 

"Yes, ma'am,"  the young man says, shaking his great-aunt's hand.

 

"I'm very pleased to meet you," Emma Channing says.  "Come in and make yourselves comfortable.  Sit down.  I hope you can stay for dinner."

Sydney smiles.  "Well, maybe.  If we'd be welcome."

 

"What are you talking about, of course you would be welcome."

 

"Emma, how have you been?  And what about Lance and Pilar?  Last time we talked, and I know that's been at least ten years, right after your mother died, I think, Lance and Pilar were running the winery."

 

The smile fades from Emma Channing's face.  "Well, yes, they were, then.  Lance lives in a lovely house in the Valley with my sister Julia, his mother, and his two kids."

 

"And what about Pilar?  They aren't together anymore?"

 

"Sydney, Pilar is dead.  She was killed in an explosion, almost two years ago."

 

"Oh, no.  Emma, I'm so sorry.  Pilar was very kind to me when I lived here.  That was a crazy time, for all of us."

 

"That's putting it mildly,"  Emma Channing says.

 

Meanwhile, Richard walks into the house.  He stops in the foyer when he sees Kyle and Sydney in the living room.

 

"Richard, come,"  Emma Channing says.  "Look who's here.  It's Sydney.  And her son......your grandson, Kyle."

 

"Well, Sydney," Richard says, surprised to see her in his home.  "It's been a long time."

 

"Yes, it certainly has, Mr. Channing."

 

"And Kyle.  Hello, again."

 

"Now do you believe I am who I say I am?"  Kyle asks.

 

"Looks like I don't have  a choice,"  Richard says.  

 

"Richard, I've invited Sydney and Kyle to stay for dinner,"  Emma Channing says.  "I hope you don't mind."

 

Richard looks at her and manages a slight smile.  "Of course not.  The more, the merrier,"  he says, looking at Kyle, who returns his gaze with a smile.  

 

 

The Gioberti home....night....

 Cole walks into the foyer that evening to answer the ringing doorbell at the Gioberti home.  When he opens the door, Christopher and Courtney are there.  "Good evening," he says to the couple.

 

"Mr. Gioberti,"  Courtney says.

 

"Please, come in."

 

"Thank you,"  Christopher says as he and Courtney walk into the house.

 

Chase comes down the stairs.  

 

"Hello, Chase,"  Courtney says.

 

"Courtney, Christopher.  Why don't we go in the living room and we can talk?"

 

"Well, I'll leave the three of you alone to talk,"  Cole says.

 

"No, Dad,"  says Chase.  "I'd like for you you to join us."

 

"Okay, fine,"  Cole says.  The four go into the living room.  "Would you like a drink or anything?"  Cole asks Courtney and Christopher.

 

"No, thank you,"  Christopher replies.  

 

"Okay, so now we're all here," says Chase.  "What is it you came all this way to talk to me about?"  

 

"Chase, it's about Jacob," replies Courtney.

 

"What, is something wrong?"

 

"No, nothing like that."

"Chase, Jacob has been living with us at Southfork, my family's ranch in Texas," says Christopher.  "He's been with us now for several months, and he's happy there.  In that time, Jacob, Courtney, and I have become a real family.  I love Jacob like he was my own, and, I want to adopt him."

 

"Excuse me?  You want to what?"  Chase asks.

 

"I would like very much to adopt Jacob."

 

"We needed your permission, as Jacob's father,"  Courtney says.

 

"You need my permission?  Let me get this straight,"  says Chase.  "Christopher, you want to adopt Jacob?  Legally adopt him?  MY son?"

 

"Yes, that's right."

 

"And you need my permission?"

 

"Hold on a second,"  Cole says.  "What this sounds like to me is, you're asking Chase to sign away his parental so that YOU can be Jacob's father."

 

"Yes."

 

"No way in HELL is that happening,"  says an angry Chase.  "You've both got a lot of  nerve coming here asking me to sign away my parental rights to my son."

 

"Chase, please,"  Courtney says.  "Christopher loves Jacob, and Jacob loves him.  He'll be an excellent father to him."

 

"I don't doubt that,"  says Chase.  "But the fact remains that Jacob is MY son, NOT his.  I was cheated out of the first ten years of my son's life because you kept his existence a secret from me.  But I won't be cheated out of being a part of  Jacob's life now.  For the past few months I have done EVERYTHING you've asked me to do.  I've kept my distance.  I didn't even try and contact Jacob during Christmas because you asked me not to.  But no more.  From now on, things are gonna be different.  A lot different."

 

"Chase, what do you mean?"  Courtney asks.  

 

"That custody suit that I agreed to hold off on...........well I'll held off long enough.  The custody suit is back on.  I'm going for custody of my son."

 

"It'd be a big mistake for you to go through with this, Chase,"  Christopher says.

 

"Why?  Is that a threat?  Because the Ewings have a lot of money and power?  Well, so do the Giobertis."

 

"Jacob has been through so much in his life, and now he finally has a stable, loving home with two parents who adore him."

 

"But you are NOT that boy's father,"  Chase angrily says.  "I am!  And I'm not gonna let you just push me out of his life like I don't exist."

 

"That's not what we're trying to do,"  Courtney says.  

 

"Isn't it?  That's what it sounds like to me."  Cole says.  "Jacob is my grandson, and I haven't even had a chance to meet him."

 

"Chase, letting me adopt Jacob would be the best thing all around, for everyone,"  says Christopher.

 

"Best for who?  YOU?  Seems to me that you and Courtney are the only ones who'll benefit from this.  You two will raise my son, and he'll never even know I exist."

 

"That's not true."  says Courtney.

 

"Yes it.  Once I sign my parental rights away, I'll never be able to see my son or get to know him.  I'd like you both to leave.  Now!"

 

"Chase, come on,"  Christopher says.  

 

"My son asked you to leave,"  Cole says.  "Now, I'm telling you."

 

"Courtney, when you came here, did you really think you were gonna get me to agree to this?"  Chase asks.

 

"I was hoping I could convince you to do what was right for Jacob."

 

"What's best for Jacob is having a relationship with his real father,"  Chase says.  "Now please leave."

 

"Courtney, come on,"  says Christopher.  "Let's go."

 

"Chase,"  Courtney says.  

 

"Come on, honey,"  Christopher says, gently taking his wife by the arm.  Cole walks the couple to the door and they leave.  

 

Angered by the visit, Chase walks to the bar and pours himself a drink as Cole returns to the living room.  "Can you believe the nerve of them?" Chase asks.  "Asking me to give up all rights to my son so that Christopher Ewing can become his father."

 

"You did the right thing by refusing,"  Cole says.  "What are you gonna do now?"

 

Chase looks at his father.  "This is what I'm gonna do now," he says.  He takes out his cell phone and dials a number, then waits for an answer, which comes after two rings.  "Hello, Lisa?  This is Chase Gioberti. I want to proceed with my case.  I wanna sue Courtney and Christopher Ewing for full custody of my son."

 

Meanwhile, outside, as Courtney and Christopher get into their rented car, Courtney begins to cry.  Christopher reaches over and lovingly touches his wife's shoulder.  "It's gonna be okay," he says.  

 

"This is exactly what I was afraid of,"  Courtney says, wiping a tear from her face.  "Chase is going ahead with the custody suit.  We could lose him, Christopher.  We could lose Jacob."

 

"Courtney, that is NOT gonna happen.  I promise.  LLet's get back to the hotel and get some rest.  Tomorrow morning, I'll call Drew Demarest."  Christopher starts the car's engine, and the two drive off.

Tuscany Valley High School....the next morning....

Alex is heading into Tuscany Valley High the next morning when he sees Gabby Cumson coming up the school steps.  Alex stops and waits for her.  "Hey," he says.

 

"Hi, Alex."

 "Have you seen Nick this morning?  We were supposed to meet and go over some notes for Mr. Allen's test."  Alex says.

 

"Yeah, he's right over there,"  Gabby replies, pointing to Nick, who is sitting alone on a short stone wall at the edge of the school building.  "I don't know what's wrong with him this morning, but, something's bothering him.  Maybe you can get him to talk."

 

"Sure, I'll go talk to him."

 

"Thanks.  I have to run to the library before homeroom, so I'll see you later,"  Gabby says, then walks away.

 

Alex looks at his friend for a few seconds, noting a look of sadness on Nick's face.  He walks over to him.  "Hey, bro,"  he says, taking a seat on the wall beside Nick.

 

"Hey."

 

"I thought we were gonna go over those notes for Mr. Allen's test."

 

"Sorry, just not really up to it,"  Nick says.

 

"Dude, what's wrong?  You look like you just got kicked in the gut or somethin'."

 

"I'm not sure I haven't,"  Nick says.

 

"What's that supposed to mean?  Bro, did something happen?"

 

Nick looks at his friend.  "My doctor, my oncologist, called this morning before I left for school.  He wants to see me in his office this afternoon at 2."

 

"Oh?  Why?"  Alex asks.

 

"I had some tests done last week.  Some blood work and a couple chest x-rays.  He probably wants to give me the results."

 

"So why are you worried?"  Alex asks.  "Your last tests showed no sign of the cancer."

 

"Yeah, but, Alex, it's never a good sign when your cancer doctor calls that early in the morning and wants you to come in to see him THAT day.  Especially since I already had an appointment for the last of next week to get my results.  Something must be wrong."

 

"Nick, come on, don't borrow trouble until you have to.  Maybe it's more good news and he doesn't wanna wait to give it to you."

 

Nick shakes his head.  "No.  Doctors don't mind waiting to give you good news until your next appointment.  But they wanna go ahead and give you the bad news right away."

 

"You didn't tell Gabby about this, obviously."

 

"No.  I didn't wanna worry her until I have to."

 

Nick puts his hand on his friend's shoulder.  "It's gonna be okay, bro.  You want me to go with you to the doctor?"

 

"Thanks, but, my Mom is gonna meet me there.  But, I mean, if you wanna come, I could use the moral support, if you can get out of school a little early."

 

"Done,"  Alex says.  

 

Nick looks at him.  "Thanks, dude.  Listen, don't say anything to Gabby about this.  If it's good news, I'll give it to her when I get it.  Same if it's bad news."

 

"You got it.  We'd better get in."

 

Nick sighs.  "Yeah. I just know I'm not gonna be able to concentrate on school today.  I'll be thinking about going to see that doctor."  The two boys stand to their feet and head to their first classes of the day.

Lisa Agretti's office in San Francisco....

"So, Christopher and Courtney Ewing actually asked you to sign away your parental rights to your son?"  Lisa asks Chase, meeting with him in her office later that morning.

 

"That's right."

 

"Well, they have a lot of nerve, I'll give them that,"  Lisa says.

 

"Yeah, that's the same thing I said.  Christopher Ewing wants to adopt Jacob and become his legal father.  But I'm not gonna let that happen, Lisa.  Jacob is MY son, and Courtney deprived me of the first ten years of his life.  I'm gonna make sure that my son is raised a Gioberti, and not a Ewing."

 

"Alright.  I'll file the papers this morning.  Do you know how long the Ewings are  gonna be in San Francisco?"

 

"For all I know they're probably headed back to Dallas this morning,"  Chase replies.  "After I refused their request, there's no reason for them to stay in town."

 

"Okay, do you know where they were staying?"  Lisa asks.

 

"Courtney told me when she called yesterday they were staying at the Omni."

 

"Alright.  If they ARE still in town, I can have them served with papers there.  If not, I'll have them sent to Dallas."

 

"Thank you, Lisa.  I really appreciate all your help in this."

 

"You're welcome, Chase.  Let's just hope that we win.  We have  a strong case, especially with this latest development of them asking you to sign away your parental rights."

 

"I'm gonna win this, Lisa.  I want my son.  I wanna be a father to him.  And I want you to pull out all the stops."

 

"Well, the first order of business is finding out a little something about the Ewings.  What kind of people they are, and if they have any really dark skeletons in their closet, especially Christopher and Courtney.  I'll get right on this, and I'll go ahead and file the papers with the court."

Queen Of The Valley Hospital....

"Thank you,"  Elena says as a nurse takes away her breakfast tray at the hospital that morning.  

 

"Let me know if you need anything, Mrs. Channing,"  the nurse says.

 

"Thanks.  But all I really want is a little rest.  The way they kept coming in here all night to take my temperature and blood pressure every hour, I didn't get much sleep."

 

The nurse smiles.  "Well, you get some sleep.  We shouldn't have to bother you again until lunch time in about three hours."  As the nurse starts to leave, Emma Ryland walks into the room.  "Mrs. Channing, you have a visitor,"  the nurse says.  "Are you up for it?"

 

Elena looks at Emma.  "Yes, nurse.  Let her come in."

 

The nurse smiles, then leaves.  Emma walks over to Elena's bed.  "How are you feeling?"  She nervously asks.

 

"How do you think I feel?"  Elena asks.  "I fell down an entire flight of stairs.  I have a sprained wrist, a concussion, and I could've lost my baby."

 

"Your......your baby?"  

 

"That's right, Emma.  I'm pregnant."

 

"Elena, I......I'm so sorry.  I had no idea.  Is the baby alright?"

 

"The baby's fine.  Luckily for you."

 

"Your fall was an ACCIDENT,"  Emma says.  "I never meant for that to happen."

 

"But it DID happen. Emma, because of you."

 

"Did you tell anyone, what we were arguing about?"  

 

"No.  Not yet.  But I should."

 

"Elena, listen to me.  You have NO idea what's going on here......"

 

"Emma, come on, don't give me that crap,"  Elena says.  "I've known you for a long time.  Through all your scheming and manipulations back in Dallas.  How you seduced John Ross when he was married to Pamela.  So, what'd you do?  Seduce him again?  Emma, I KNOW the father of your baby is a Ewing.  I heard you on the phone with your mother.   It's gotta be either John Ross, or his cousin, Lucas.  Now who is it?"

 

"Elena, I'm warning you....."

 

"You're warning ME?"  Elena asks.  She picks up the phone on the table next to her bed.  

 

"What are you doing?"  Asks a frightened Emma.  "Who are you calling?"

 

"Michael.  To tell him exactly what happened on those stairs yesterday, and what we were arguing about.  And how you PUSHED me down the stairs."

 

"You lying.......I didn't PUSH you down those stairs, and you damned well know that!"

 

"But who do you think Michael would believe?  His wife?  Or his dead brother's slutty girlfriend who lied about the paternity of her child for more than a year.  Tell me who the father is or I call Michael right now."

 

"No you're not!"  Emma says, grabbing for the phone.

 

"What are you gonna do, Emma?"  Elena asks.  "Attack a hospitalized pregnant woman, AGAIN?"

 

"Elena, please.  I am BEGGING you........like you said, we've known each other a long time.  That's gotta count for something."

 

"If we had ever been friends, maybe it would.  But we never have been friends, Emma.  Tell me who the father is, or I call Michael and the police and tell them you pushed me down those stairs."

 

Emma sighs.  "It's Lucas.  Lucas Ewing is the father of my child.  Are you happy now?"

 

"Why didn't you tell the truth at the beginning?"

 

"By the time I found out I was pregnant, Kevin and I were deeply involved, and Lucas was seeing Heather.  Kevin was so happy when he found out I was pregnant, and he thought the baby was his.  Elena, I loved him so much.  I couldn't take that happiness away from him, and I didn't wanna ruin Lucas's relationship with Heather."

 

"You really expect me to buy this?"  Elena asks.  "Emma Ryland, the Queen of selfishness, thinking of other peoples' happiness for once in her life?"

 

"It's true.  I was thinking of the two men that I loved......Lucas, and Kevin.  Now that you know, what are you gonna do?"

 

"I know what I SHOULD do,"  says Elena.  "I should go straight to Lucas and tell him about his son.  And then I should go to Richard and Bobby and tell them they've been lied to."

 

"Why would you do that?  For spite?  Out of jealousy?"

 

"Jealousy?"

 

"Yes,"  Emma says.  "I'm not doing anything any worse than what YOU did.  In fact, what you did to John Ross was worse than what I'm doing.  You told John Ross that his son was dead.  I simply didn't tell Lucas that he even has a son.  So you tell me, Elena.  Which one of us is worse?  And now, what you're threatening to do........ruin not only my life, but also my mother's.  I thought you always cared for Ann.  But if you tell this secret, it will destroy her marriage to Bobby once and for all.  Can you do that to her, after all the kindness she showed you over the years?  Is your hatred for me greater than your affection for my mother?"

 

Elena fights back tears.  "You're right," she says.  "I couldn't do that to Ann.  You're right about something else, too.  I AM jealous.  Because it's so damned unfair that John Ross took my son away from me, but you get to keep yours."  

 

"Do you know how many times I've thought the same thing about you?"  Emma asks.  "Been jealous of you, because you get to be Mrs. Channing, and I never will."

 

"Don't worry.  Because I would never wanna hurt Ann, I won't say a word.  For now."

 

"For.....for now?"  Emma nervously asks.  "What does that mean?"

 

"I'm not going to tell your secret because of your mother.  But Emma.......you had better not ever cross me, or hurt anyone I care about, because the minute you do, I won't keep my mouth shut about this any longer.  Understood?"

 

Emma nods.  "Understood.  Thank you."  Emma walks to the door and starts to leave.  She pauses, then turns back to Elena.  "Isn't it ironic in a twisted sort of way?"  She asks.

 

"What?"

 

"The two of us,"  Emma replies.  "How our lives keep intertwining like this.  We both lived in Dallas.  Both of us were John Ross's lover at time or another.  We're both mothers of Ewing children.......you have John Ross's son, and I have Lucas's.  Then we both left Dallas, only to end up here in this Valley in California, you married to Michael Channing and me engaged to his brother.  And now, we have this secret between us."

 

"I guess, one way or another, you and I are destined to always be a part of each others' lives,"  says Elena.

 

"I guess so.  God help us,"  Emma says, then leaves. 

Falcon Crest....early afternoon....

Richard and Sydney are walking in the vineyards at Falcon Crest early in the afternoon.  "This really is a beautiful place,"  Sydney says.  "And so peaceful."

 

"Yes, I've always thought so,"  says Richard.

 

"I remember when I lived here, years ago, everything was so crazy, so.......chaotic.  But even through the turmoil of my marriage to Ian St. James, I could always come out here to these vineyards and find some peace.  Well, we've had enough small talk.  Why did you wanna see me this afternoon, Mr. Channing?"

 

"Oh, please, call me Richard."

 

"Fine....Richard.  Now, what's this all about?"

 

"Why did you come back here after all these years?"  Richard asks.

 

"Two reasons.  Emma's daughter, Angela St. James, called me and asked me to come and see Emma for her birthday.  Second reason........I came to see my son.  And at first,  I'd hoped to persuade him to come back home with me."

 

"You said at first.  You've changed your mind about that now?"  Richard asks.

 

"Yes, I have.  Kyle is determined to find his father.  And I'd like to help him do that."

 

"You wanna see Danny again yourself, huh?"

 

"Yes, I do,"  Sydney says.  "Richard, do you still doubt that Kyle is Danny's son?"

 

"No, I don't.  I knew it as soon as I looked at him and he told me.  He's the spitting image of Danny when he was young.  Same kind of attitude and temperament, too.  There's no doubt about it.  Kyle is Danny's son and my grandson. And I would like to get to know him."

 

"I'm glad to hear that. So what about Danny?  Can you help me to find him for Kyle?"

 

"Sydney, my son and I had a huge fight a long time ago.  I haven't seen or spoken to Danny since Lauren died almost nine years ago."

 

"Haven't you ever wanted to find him, or at least thought about it?"  Sydney asks.

 

"Oh, I've thought about it many times.  I just never could work up the guts to do it.  Maybe you should try Michael Sharpe.  Danny always considered him more his father than he did me, anyway, no matter how atrociously Sharpe treated him."

 

"Sharpe would never help me.  If I never heard that man's name again, it'd be too soon."

 

Richard smiles.  "Yeah, I know whatcha mean.  Alright.  I'll help you.  Maybe things have changed with Danny after all this time."

 

"Thank you,"  says Sydney.

San Francisco General Hospital....

While Alex waits outside in a reception area, Nick and his mother are sitting in Nick's doctor's office at San Francisco General Hospital that afternoon, waiting for him to come in.  Both are silent as they nervously await the doctor's arrival to give them either good news, or bad about Nick's latest test results.  Both are startled when the doctor finally walks in.  "Mrs. Fairchild, Nick," he says.  "Sorry to have kept you waiting.  I was with a colleague who was looking over Nick's latest test results with me."

 

"Dr. Carter, please, if anything is wrong, tell us,"  Nick's mother says.

 

The doctor takes a seat at his desk and opens Nicks' file.  "The tests we did last week, the blood tests and chest x-rays, were not good.  Nick's blood tests show that, his white blood cell count is greatly elevated.  Another, more comprehensive tests on the blood samples taken show that Nick's cancer is back, and very aggressive.  The tests x-rays show dozens of small tumors in Nick's chest, and in the lymph nodes."

 

"My......my cancer is back?"  Nick asks.

 

"Yes."

 

"Okay, then, we'll just tackle it like we did before,"  Susan Fairchild says.  "Nick will have to start chemo right away?"

 

"Well, Mrs. Fairchild, first we're gonna have to run some tests, to determine how far the cancer is spread, and if it's spread to any of Nick's organs.  And then we can go from there.  I'd like to admit Nick right now, and we can begin those tests immediately.  The faster we learn what we're dealing with, the quicker we can plan what course of treatment to take."

"So, what you're saying is......I'm gonna have to have more chemo and radiation?"  Nick asks.

 

"I'm sorry, Nick,"  the doctor says.  

 

"I thought when my last few tests and scans came back okay, that I'd beaten it."

 

"Your cancer was in remission, Nick.  But unfortunately, we always knew that it could come back at any time.  I'll make the arrangements to get Nick a room, and we'll start those tests immediately.  Excuse me."  Dr. Carter gets up from his desk and leaves the room.  

 

"It's going to be alright, Nick,"  Susan Fairchild tells her son.  "I need to go and call your father."

 

"Mom, would you tell Alex?"

 

"Of course."  Susan gets up from her seat and leaves the office.  In the reception area outside, Alex is sitting on a sofa reading a magazine.  Susan walks over to her son's friend.  "Alex?"

 

"Mrs. Fairchild.  Is Alex done?  Where is he?"

 

"Sweety, the doctor has to admit Nick into the hospital for more tests.  His cancer has come back."

 

"What?  No...."  Alex says, near tears.

 

"We won't know what we're dealing with until more tests are done.  Alex, I think my son could use his best friend right now.  He's in the doctor's office.  Go and sit with him.  I have to go and call my husband and tell him."

 

"Yes, ma'am,"  Alex says.  As Susan leaves, Alex walks over to the door leading into the doctor's office.  He hesitates a few seconds, then walks into the office.  He walks over to Nick and puts his hand on his friend's shoulder.  "Your Mom told me."

 

"Yeah,"  Nick says with a deep sigh.  "Well, I guess.....there goes prom Saturday night.  Maybe graduation, too."

 

"Dude, you don't know that.  Just wait and see what the doctor says.  This is only Monday.  By Saturday, you could be out of the hospital and back on your feet."

"Yeah.  Maybe,"  Nick says, his voice sounding unconvinced.

Omni Hotel, San Francisco....

Christopher Ewing comes out of the bathroom of his and Courtney's suite at San Francisco's Omni Hotel, a towel around his waist after a shower, just as someone knocks on the door.  "Courtney, I'll get it,"  he says.  Christopher walks to the door and opens it to find a man there in a suit.  "May I help you?"

 

"Christopher Ewing?"  The man asks.

 

"Yes, I'm Christopher Ewing."

 

"You've been served,"  the man says, handing Christopher a piece of paper.  He then walks away.

 

Christopher closes the door, then looks at the paper.  Courtney comes in from the bathroom, drying her hair after also taking a shower.  "Who was it?"  She asks.

 

"It was a messenger, Christopher replies.  "It's finally happening.  Chase Gioberti is suing us for custody of Jacob."

 

Courtney's mouth falls open in shock at the news that Chase had acted so fast.

Gioberti and Sons....

Forty-five minutes later, Christopher walks into the offices of Gioberti and Sons Shipping, and approaches the secretary's desk.  "I need to see Chase Gioberti," he says.

 

"Do you have an appointment?"

 

"No, I don't, but it's very important I see Mr. Gioberti."

 

"And your name?"

 

"Christopher Ewing."

 

"I'll see if Mr. Gioberti is free to see you,"  the secretary says.  She buzzes Chase's office.  "Mr. Gioberti, there's a Christopher Ewing here to see you."

 

At his desk, Chase hesitates a moment before answering.  "Alright, send him in."  A few seconds later, Christopher walks in.  "I guess you're here because you know I filed papers to sue Courtney for full custody of Jacob."

 

"You didn't waste any time did you?"  Christopher asks.

 

"No, I didn't.  Because you and Courtney crossed a line last night when you asked me to sign away all my parental rights.  How the hell did you and Courtney think I was gonna react when you came to me with this?  Did you think I would just say, 'sure, I'll sign my son over to you and you, Christopher, can be his father with my blessing'?  Sorry, but NO way."

 

"Do you know what this is gonna do to Jacob?  Chase, if you gave a damn about that little boy, you wouldn't go ahead with putting him through the hell of another custody battle,  Let alone uprooting him again."

 

"You and Courtney could avoid the hell of another custody battle.  Just give me custody of Jacob, and the two of you can see him like every other weekend or something."

 

"That's not gonna happen,"  Christopher says.

 

Chase stands from his seat and faces him.  "Then I'll see you in court."

 

"Y'know, you're about the biggest damned hypocrite I've ever seen.  You claim to care about Jacob, yet you're willing to take him out of a loving, stable home......the most loving and stable home that kid has ever had."

 

"And who's fault was it that Jacob never had a stable home?  It was COURTNEY'S fault!"  Chase angrily says.  "If I had known I had a son, I would've taken care of him!"

 

"You were 16-years-old, how the hell could you have been a father to Jacob?"

 

"Well, I guess we'll never know, since I was cheated out of he chance of trying.  Now get out of my office."

 

"Alright, Gioberti,"  Christopher says.  "You want a fight?  You GOT it!  But if you think you're gonna win, you're delusional."

 

"If you're trying to threaten me and intimidate me with the Ewing name.....forget it.  I'm a Gioberti, and my family also has money and power."

 

"Well, we'll see,"  Christopher says.  

 

"Damn right, we will,"  says Chase.

END OF EPISODE 32....

Write a comment

Comments: 3
  • #1

    Heath (Saturday, 19 May 2018 22:37)

    Once again. Another good episode

  • #2

    Chris Hawkins (Monday, 21 May 2018 15:20)

    John,

    Another great episode!
    Chris

  • #3

    Ada Vincent (Tuesday, 22 May 2018 18:27)

    Great job as usual