EPISODE 31 - Relations

Previously On FALCON CREST:

--------------After saving Austin from Josh, Brian took Austin and the Harper kids hostage at the farm.

--------------Jonathon settled in as the new CEO of Wentworth Industries in Dallas.

--------------Elena became suspicious and warned Michael about Emma Ryland after finding Michael and Emma in the gym together.

--------------Richard demanded that Cole give him back The Globe after Cole was installed as temporary CEO of Lord Enterprises in Jeremy's absence.  When Cole refused, Richard threatened a law suit.

--------------A young man named Kyle Griffin showed up at Falcon Crest pretending to be Richard's grandson, the offspring of Richard's illegitimate son, Danny Sharpe.

--------------Alex and Nick found Vicky passed out drunk at the Lord mansion.  Later, Cole confronted Vicky about what her drinking was doing to Alex.

-------------Kevin's will was read at Falcon Crest, and much to Richard's shock, Kevin left half of his portion of Falcon Crest.......to Lance!

-------------In a hospital, the young man bandaged from head to foot began to wake up from his coma!

The Cumson Home....

Lance returns home from Falcon Crest after the reading of Kevin's will.  Smiling, he walks to the liquor cabinet, opens it, and takes out a glass and a bottle of scotch, then pours himself a drink.  Smiling again, he takes a sip as Eric and Gabby walk into the room.  "Dad?"  Eric says.

 

"Oh, hey, you two,"  Lance says, turning to his kids.  

 

"How'd it go at the will reading?"  Gabby asks.

 

"Better than I expected."

 

"Meaning what, Dad?"  Eric asks.  

 

"Meaning......I once again own a piece of Falcon."  replies Lance.  

 

"But, Daddy, how?"  Gabby asks.

"Dad, are you saying that......Kevin left part of Falcon Crest to YOU in his will?"  Eric asks.

 

Lance looks at his son and smiles.  "That's right.  He left me one half of his share of the winery and vineyards."

 

"Daddy, that's great!"  Says an excited Gabby.

 

"But why would he do that?" Eric asks.


"Who knows, who cares? What matters to me is that I now own a piece of Falcon Crest again.  Sure, it's not a very big piece, but it's a start."

 

"Boy, I'll bet ol' Uncle Richard just LOVED that, didn't he?"  Eric asks with a grin.

 

"Oh, he was livid.  Michael wasn't too happy, either.  But who the hell cares.  This is a step in the right direction for a change."

 

"Well, I'm very happy for you, Dad,"  says Eric.  "And like you said, it's a step in the right direction.  And I have a feeling that it won't be long until you have an even bigger piece of Falcon Crest."

 

Lance looks at his son curiously.  "What makes you say that?"

 

"Just a feeling I have,"  Eric replies with a smile.  

Falcon Crest.....

"Damn it, Agretti, there has to be something I can do about this,"  says an angry Richard, meeting with his attorney Ben Agretti in his office at Falcon Crest that afternoon.  "Some loophole."

 

"Richard, I'm sorry.  But Kevin's will was very clear.  He left Lance half of his share of Falcon Crest, and there's nothing anyone can do about it short of....."  Ben stops talking and pauses.

 

"Short of what?"  Richard asks.  "If you have an idea, then let's hear it."

 

"Richard, the only way to stop Lance from getting his hands on that piece of Falcon Crest would be to contest Kevin's will in court on grounds of his mental competency at the time he made the will, and that would also put the entire will in question, including Kevin's bequests to his son and the rest of the family.  Now I'm sure you don't wanna go that far to keep Lance Cumson from gaining a small piece of Falcon Crest."

 

"No, of course I don't wanna contest my son's will.  So that's the best you can come up with for all the money I pay you?  I should get myself a new lawyer."

 

"Any other attorney would tell you the same thing,"  Ben says.  

 

Richard walks to the window and looks out.  "So that's it, then?  I'm just stuck with Lance Cumson as a partner in Falcon Crest."

 

"I'm afraid so,"  says Ben.  "But look, Richard, you and Lance ARE family. I'm sure the two of you can find some way of making this work."

 

"Hah!  Family.  Lance Cumson may be my nephew, but he's never treated me as family, and I feel the same about him."

 

"Well, maybe Lance won't even wanna bother with such a small piece of Falcon Crest."

 

"Ben, you don't know your former father-in-law very well, do you?"  Richard asks sarcastically.  "Lance would involve himself in the day to day operations of Falcon Crest just for the sake of annoying me and being a thorn in my side."

 

"Richard, I'm sorry, but you have no choice but to live with this,"  Ben says.  He looks at his watch.  "Oh, if you'll excuse me, I really have to be going.  It's my weekend to get my kids, and I'm already late picking them up.  I'll talk to you later."

 

"Yes, later,"  Richard says as Ben quickly leaves.  

 

Richard shakes his head.  "Why, Kevin?"  He quietly asks, once alone in the office.  "Why in the hell would you do this to me?"

Meanwhile....upstairs....

After changing baby Logan's diaper, Emma Ryland gently places her son into his play pen in her bedroom.  She smiles as she looks down at the infant.  "Well," she says.  "Your Daddy was very generous to us both.  Although I was a little disappointed that Kevin left half of his share of Falcon Crest to his cousin Lance instead of leaving it all to you.  But, that half of this winery, and that one million dollars will certainly help give us a decent life."  The smile fades from Emma's face as she continues to look at the child, unaware that Elena is walking by her slightly open bedroom door and hears Emma as she speaks to her son:  "I promise, we're gonna be okay, Logan.  I feel bad that Kevin died not knowing the truth.  But there's nothing I can do about that.  He left us pretty well set, and with Katherine out of the way and wanted by the police, your grandmother and I are the only ones who know the truth. I just hope that crazy Auntie Katherine is gone for good."

 

Elena's curiosity is aroused when she hears Emma mention Katherine, and a truth that only Katherine, Ann, and she know.  

 

"Elena?"  Angie says from behind her, startling Elena.  

 

"Oh, you scared me,"  Elena whispers.

 

"What are you doing?"  

 

"Nothing, I was just......."

 

"Hey, what's going on?"  Emma asks, coming to the door after hearing the two womens' voices outside of her door.  "What are the two of you doing outside of my bedroom?"

 

"Nothing,"  Elena quickly replies.  "We were just passing by."

 

Emma looks at the two suspiciously, then closes her door.  

 

"Okay, would you mind telling me what that was all about, and what you were listening for?"  Angie asks Elena.

 

"As a matter of fact, I would,"  Elena replies, then turns and walks away, leaving Angie wondering what Elena was up to, and why she was eavesdropping outside of Emma Ryland's bedroom.  

Del Oro Spa, Health Club, and Resort....evening....

Angela steps off the elevator on the second floor at Del Oro Resort that evening.  Turning right, she walks a few doors down the hall to a room and knocks.  She waits impatiently for an answer, then knocks a second and a third time.  Finally, Kyle Griffin opens the door, sweaty and dressed in a tank top.  "Yes?  Can I help you?"

 

Angela is immediately caught off guard by the young man's handsome face and muscular physique, and has to quickly remind herself that this incredibly attractive and near perfect member of the male species could very well be her cousin.

 

"Excuse me,"  Kyle says, snapping Angela out of her inappropriate fantasies.  "Can I help you?"

 

"Umm, that all depends,"  Angela says.

"Depends on what?" 

 

"On whether or not you're Kyle Griffin."

 

"And who wants to know?"  Kyle asks.

 

"Well, are you, or are you NOT Kyle Griffin?"

 

"I am.  And who are you?"


"Angela St. James."

 

"St. James?"  Kyle asks.

 

"Yes.  My mother is Emma Channing, and my father was......"

 

"Charley St. James,"  Kyle says.

 

"That's right."

 

"Come in."

 

"Thanks,"  Angela says, walking into the room.   Kyle closes the door behind her, then turns to her.  "I hope I didn't catch you at a bad time."

 

"Not at all.  I was just doing my evening workout."

 

"Yes, so I see."

 

"So, you're Emma's daughter,"  Kyle says.  "I've heard an awful lot about your mother, from my own mother.  They were pretty close at one time."

 

"I've heard."

 

"I guess you and I would be......cousins, right?"  Kyle asks.

 

"I suppose."

 

"So why are you here?"

 

"To find out exactly why YOU'RE here,"  Angela says.  

 

"Excuse me?" 

 

"Uncle Richard said that you told him you're here hoping to find out where your father is."

 

"That's right,"  Kyle says.  "Did Richard send you over here?"

 

"No, of course not.  I came out of curiosity.  And Uncle Richard was right.  You really ARE the spitting image of Danny Sharpe."

 

"Is that so surprising?  Danny is my father, after all.  My mother always said I look just like him.  Now that we've got THAT out of the way, would you mind telling me what you're really doing here, if Richard Channing didn't send you?  

 

"I was just curious,"  replies Angela.  "And now that I see for myself, I really have no doubt in my mind that you really are Danny Sharpe's son.  

 

Kyle flashes a smile at her.  "Well, thank you."

 

"Now my next question.........what is it you hope to gain by coming here?"

 

"All I want is to find my father. Nothing more, nothing less.  Now, Miss St. James, I have a question for you.  Why did you come here to see me?  And I want the REAL reason.  I don't believe for one minute that ridiculous story that you were curious about me.  So tell me, what is it you want?"

 

Angela smiles.  "Well, the part about me being curious was true.  But, that isn't the real reason I'm here."

 

"Go figure,"  Kyle says sarcastically.

 

"Uncle Richard wasn't very accepting of you when you showed up at Falcon Crest, was he?  He was even skeptical that you are who you say you are.  Am I right?"

 

"Were you in the next room listening?"

 

Angela smiles.  "No.  But I know my Uncle Richard very well.  And let's just say that he's........."

 

"He's an ass,"  Kyle says.

 

"Yes.  And I'm sure that must hurt, being treated that way by your own grandfather."

 

"Well, I can't say as I really blame the man.  I mean, a total stranger shows up at his door one day claiming to be his long lost grandson.  I'm sure that must have thrown him for a loop."

 

"You don't know Richard Channing. NOTHING throws him for a loop.  And he doesn't accept outsiders, even if they ARE blood family.  He took Falcon Crest away from my cousin Lance without batting an eye.  He's cold, ruthless, manipulative, and calculating, and those are his good qualities."

 

"So there's no love lost between you and my grandfather,"  Kyle says.

 

"I can't stand him.  My Mom also owned part of Falcon Crest, but Richard cut her out, too.  And letting my Mom and I live at Falcon Crest is just, to his mind, handing out charity to his sister and niece."

 

The young man smiles at her.  "Now I get it.  Not only do you hate Richard Channing, but you want Falcon Crest for yourself, don't you?"

 

"My grandmother, Angela Channing, who would be your great-grandmother, had originally left most of Falcon Crest to my mother, Emma, when she was displeased with my cousin Lance.  Grandmother spent several months in a coma, and my mother controlled Falcon Crest,"

 

"Yes,"  says Kyle.  "Angela Channing was in a coma, courtesy of your father, Charley St. James.  I heard the story from my mother.  I also know that your dear mother's ineptness at running Falcon Crest allowed her to be tricked into signing the place over to Michael Sharpe.  So, do you think your mother would be any MORE capable of running the winery now than she was way back then?"

 

A look of anger crosses Angela's face.  

 

"I seem to have hit a nerve,"  says Kyle.  

 

"There's one big difference.  My mother didn't have me to help her before.  I learned everything about Falcon Crest, and about business from the woman I was named after, Angela Channing."

 

"Okay, look, cuz, I think we're just dancing in circles here.  What the hell does all this have to do with me?"

 

"Well, as you said, I want Falcon Crest for myself, which means that I'm going to have to somehow find a way to get it away from Uncle Richard."

 

"And?"  Kyle asks.

 

"And when that happens, things are going to get ugly.  So, I just wanted to warn you.  I don't need another one of Uncle Richard's spawn in my way.  I'll help you find Danny Sharpe, and in return, I want you to leave town and never look back."

 

 

Kyle looks at her and laughs.  "You've gotta be kidding me.  You came here to tell me to leave because you're about to wage some war against my grandfather for control of Falcon Crest?  And out of the goodness of your heart, you wanted to warn me to get outta the way before I get hurt?"  Kyle continues to laugh.

 

"What is so damned funny?"  Asks an annoyed Angela.

 

"It's just so freaking hilarious, not to mention ridiculous.  You really see me as a threat to you getting control of Falcon Crest?"

 

"Anyone who stands to inherit a piece of Falcon Crest is a threat to me, and, since you're Uncle Richard's grandson, that includes you."

 

"My God,"  Kyle says, still laughing.  "You're nothing but an inexperienced little girl."

 

"A little girl?"  Angela asks, angered by his words.

 

"That's right.  Only a childish little girl would've come here with that kind of a weak and pathetic threat."

 

"I'll show you how much of a little girl I am!"

 

"There you go again.  I insulted you, so now you're about to throw a tantrum. You were named after Angela Channing, your grandmother and my great-grandmother, right?"

 

"That's right.  And like my grandmother, I can be a very formidable enemy."

 

Kyle suppresses another laugh.   "Look, no offense, cuz, but I've heard quite a lot about Angela Channing, and I even did some reading about her.  And you are nowhere near the league that lady was in.  First of all, Angela Channing never would've come here and said those ridiculous things to me.  'I'm going to take Falcon Crest away from Richard and I don't want you in the way, so for your own sake you'd best get outta town," Kyle says, mocking her.  

 

Angela looks at him angrily.  "You really think you're being cute, don't you?"

 

"No, I don't, but I think you're being VERY cute right now."  Kyle moves closer to her.  "Look, Angela, I'm not here to get a piece of Falcon Crest of anything else Richard Channing owns.  All I want is  to find my father, Danny Sharpe.  And once I find out where he is, then I'll be outta here.  So you have nothing to worry about from me.  But I am very glad you came here tonight.  You provided me with some entertainment and a much needed laugh."

 

"You're just as much of an ass as Uncle Richard.  It's easy to see that you're related to him."

 

Kyle looks at her with a smile.  "Thank you.  I take that as a compliment," he says, backing her against the door.  "You know, one day when you grow up, you might just BE a formidable enemy for some poor sucker on the receiving end of your wrath.  Until then, though, why don't you just go back to playing with dolls?"

 

Angry, Angela attempts to slap Kyle's face, but he grabs her hand, forces her against the wall, and kisses her.  For a few seconds, Angela struggles against him until he finally releases her.  

 

"Y'know," he says.  "It's a damned shame we're cousins.  Because I think we could have a lot of fun together."

 

"Even if we WEREN'T related, you would be the last guy on Earth I would ever consider having any 'fun' with."  Angela pushes a smiling Kyle away from her and quickly leaves the apartment.  After she's gone, Kyle laughs again.

The Harper farm near Texarkana, Texas....the next morning....

Sitting in a chair, Josh Harper wakes up in his bedroom the next morning and looks over to the bed at his sister Kasey, who is sitting on the bed beside their brother Corey, who is still asleep.  "What time is it?"  Josh asks.

 

"Little after 8,"  Kasey replies.  

 

Josh stands to his feet.  "We gotta get outta here, Kasey."

 

"How?  The guy has a gun, Josh.  And I don't think he would hesitate to kill any of us, even Austin, his own brother."

 

"I should've killed Austin Wentworth when I had the chance, when he first come here, and we wouldn't be in this mess right now.  It's all HIS fault!"

 

"It's not Austin's fault, Josh,"  Kasey says.  "He tried to tell us.  He warned you that his brother was out there somewhere and that he was dangerous.  If you'd just listened....." 

 

"So you're sayin' this is MY fault, Kasey?"  Josh asks, looking at his sister.  "None of this would've happened if Austin Wentworth hadn't come here in the first place."

 

"It wasn't like he chose to come here.  His plane crashed on our farm."

 

"Yeah, well, if he'd just died in that crash like that pilot did."

 

"Joshua would you listen to yourself,"  Kasey says, standing to face her brother.  "A few days ago you were goin' out in those woods and you were gonna kill another person in cold blood.  Now you're sayin' you wish he'd died in that crash?  Joshua, what's happened to you?  I love you, but you're not the same big brother that's looked after me and Corey since Mama and Daddy died."

 

"That's why I've done all of this, Kasey,"  Josh says.  "To look after you and Corey.  Kasey, if they take y'all away from me I.......I don't know what I'd do."  Unable to hold back his tears any longer, Josh begins to cry.  He sits back down in his chair.  

 

Kasey looks at her brother for a while, unsure of what to say, as she had never seen her older brother break down before.  "Josh.......I.........I never seen you cry before.  Not even when Mama and Daddy died."

 

"Me, neither,"  says Corey, who both Josh and Kasey had thought was asleep.  The younger boy sits up on the bed.

 

Josh looks at his younger siblings.  "All I wanted to do was keep us together, the way Mama wanted.  If the cops find them two here, they'll split us up.  They'll send the two of you to an orphanage or foster homes and I'll prob'ly go to jail."

 

"Austin could help us,"  says Corey.  "He said he would."

 

"Are you kiddin'?"  Josh asks.  "I tried to kill him.  You really think he's gonna lift a finger to help us now?"

 

"Austin's a good person, Josh,"  Corey says.  "He'll help us."

 

"Corey's right,"  says Kasey.  "Plus, Austin's as scared as we are of that brother of his."

 

"Well, even so, what the hell can HE do?"  Josh asks.  "That crazy Brian guy is holdin' Austin hostage here, same as us."

 

"Maybe Austin could get his brother to let us go,"  says Corey.  

 

"That Brian itn't gonna listen to anybody."

 

"Except maybe.......me?"  Kasey says.

 

"The hell are you talkin' about?"

 

"I think he likes me,"  Kasey replies.  "I could try and get close to him."

 

"No.  No way,"  says Josh.  "I aint gonna let my little sister anywhere near that killer, so you just get that idea out of your mind right now."

 

"Do you have a better idea?  Josh, we're in a real mess here.  Nobody even knows we're out here, so nobody'll be comin' to help us.  Brian could keep us here for a long time, or he could......"  Kasey stops talking and looks at her little brother.

 

"Or he could kill us,"  Corey says.  "I aint a little kid, Kasey, so you don't have to protect me.  I know.  He could kill us all, even Austin."

 

"Josh, I can do this,"  Kasey says.  "I saw the way Brian looked at me.  He likes me."

 

"Dude prob'ly aint seen a female in months, and it's prob'ly been longer'n that since he's been with one.  Kasey, there aint no tellin' what he might do to you."

 

"He won't do nothin'.  I can take care of myself,"  Kasey says.  

 

Josh is about to say something else when they hear someone unlocking the bedroom door.  Corey gets off the bed, Josh stands to his feet and the three siblings stand together in the middle of the room when the door opens and Brian is standing there.  "Well, good morning, you three,"  he says.  "Y'all ready for some breakfast?  Come on.  Into the kitchen."

 

The three walk out of the bedroom and down the hall.  "Where's Austin?"  Corey asks.

 

"Oh, yeah.  I almost forgot about him.  Here,"  Brian says, handing Corey a key.  "He's lock in his room. Let him out, then you two come on into the kitchen, and little man.......don't try anything funny, or your big brother here, he gets a bullet in his brain.  Understand?"

 

A frightened Corey looks at him and nods, then walks over to Austin's bedroom door and unlocks it.  Opening the door, he finds Austin on the bed, his hands tied to the bedpost.  He walks over and unties him.  

 

"Thanks,"  Austin says, rubbing his wrist.  "Are you guys okay?"

 

"We're okay.  Your brother says it's time for breakfast.  We better go."

 

Austin nods, then gets off the bed.  A moment later he and Corey walk into the kitchen, where they find Kasey fixing setting the table, Josh seated at the table, and Briant standing near the door, his gun on them.  "Mornin', brother,"  Brian says cheerfully.  "You sleep well last night?"

 

"About as well as I could with my hands tied."

 

"I hope everybody's hungry this morning,"  Brian says.  "I fixed us some bacon and eggs and grits.  Now everybody sit down and dig in."

 

Kasey takes her seat at the table and flashes Brian a smile, which he returns.  

Falcon Crest....

 

 

Chang-Li walks into the foyer to answer the ringing doorbell at Falcon Crest that morning.  He opens the door and a smiling Lance walks in, followed by Eric.  "Good morning, Chang-Li," Lance says.

 

"Good morning, Mr. Cumson."

 

"Is Mr. Channing at home?"

 

"I'm right here,"  Richard says, coming out of his office with Ben Agretti.  "Lance, what are you doing here?"  Richard asks.

 

"I'm here to start work, Richard.  Just tell me what needs to be done, and my son and I will take care of it."

 

"You don't actually expect to work here at Falcon Crest, do you?" Richard asks.

 

"Of course.  Kevin left me part of  the winery and vineyards in his will, and I plan to be a very hands on partner, PARTNER."

 

Richard smiles.  "You're delusional.  Kevin left you a very SMALL piece of Falcon  Crest, Lance, and that hardly makes you a partner."

 

"I beg to differ, Richard.  You see, no matter how small my piece of Falcon Crest is, that still makes me a partner in this corporation.  Isn't that right, former son-in-law?"

 

"Richard, I'm afraid Lance IS right,"  Ben says.  "His ownership of even a small portion of Falcon Crest entitles Lance to be a part of all decision making, and a right to work in any capacity at the winery or on the business end of the corporation."

 

Lance's smile grows wider.  "That's right.  I had my own lawyer, my daughter Lisa, check into that for me, and, I do have every right to be here.  At first I was planning on working in the winery, but, y'know what?  I think I'd like to work in the office here at the house, instead."

 

"You are NOT coming into my office,"  Richard says.

 

Lance looks at Ben.  "Counselor, would you please inform your client that I have EVERY right to be involved in any aspect of the business I so choose, even the day to day operations of the office?"

 

"This is my home,"  Richard says.  "And I don't want YOU in it."

 

"I know what you mean,"  says Lance.  "This use to be MY home until you stole it out from under me.  And if you don't want me in this house, then I would suggest you move Falcon Crest's office OUT of the house.  Otherwise, I do have a right to be here, isn't that correct, Ben?"

 

Richard looks at his attorney.  "Well?"

 

"Again, Richard, he's right.  Kevin's bequest to Lance gives him every legal right to be here."

 

"Don't worry, Richard,"  Lance says, still smiling.  "I promise to limit my movements in the house strictly to the office, and, maybe the kitchen or dining room during my lunch hour.  Now, then I think I'll go in and take a look at the books.  Son, are you coming, or are you gonna head on to the winery?"

 

"Oh, I think I'll just be heading on over to work in the winery,"  Eric replies.  "I'll see you guys later."  The young man smiles, then leaves.  

 

"Richard, are the books still kept in the same filing cabinet they were before you moved in?"  Lance asks.  "Never mind.  I'll find them myself."

 

"Don't get too comfortable in there, Lance, because you won't be here long,"  Richard says.  "You know damned well I'm going to put up with this."

 

Lance smiles, ignores his uncle's comment, then goes into the office, closing the door behind him.

 

Richard looks at Ben.  "Agretti, you'd better start earning that ridiculously large salary I pay you and do something about this."

 

"Richard, I've already told you, the only thing we can do is contest Kevin's will in court.  Are you really willing to go that far to keep Lance out of Falcon Crest."

 

"There has to be another way."

 

"There isn't."

 

"Well if you wanna continue earning your salary, then you find a way. And if one doesn't exist, then CREATE a way out of this.  One way or another, I'm getting Lance Cumson out of my hair because I'm not gonna put up with him around here every day."

 

Standing at the top of the stairs, Angela is listening, a devious smile coming over her face as she is enjoying the fact that Lance is in her Uncle Richard's hair.

A restaurant in San Francisco....later....

"Thank you very much,"  Emma Channing says as a waitress serves she and Angela their lunch in a restaurant in San Francisco early in the afternoon.

 

"You're welcome, Miss Channing.  Is there anything else I can get for you ladies?"

 

"No, I think we're fine,"  says Angela.

 

"Thank you, Suzy."  Emma Channing says.  The waitress smiles and walks away.  "Angela, why on Earth did you wanna meet here for lunch?"  Emma asks her daughter.

 

"Because I love the food here.  And, because I needed to talk to you about something, and I couldn't do it at Falcon Crest."

 

"Well, why not?"

 

"Because it's private.  I didn't wanna Uncle Richard, or Michael, or Elena, or Angie, or that nosey little twit Emma Ryland hearing what I have to say."

 

"Oooh, sounds juicy,"  Emma says.  "I'll bet it's about a maaan."  

 

"It is, Mom.  It's about your brother."

 

"Richard?  Well, what about him?"

 

"I think I may know how we can get Falcon Crest back from him."

 

Emma sighs.  "Darling, just let that go. Richard said that you and I will always have a place to live at Falcon Crest, but how long do you think he's going to let


us continue living there if you do anything to antagonize him?"

 

"I want more than a place to stay, Mom,"  Angela says.  "Now Grandma left part of Falcon Crest to YOU, and you were the one she put in charge of the winery a long time ago in her will.  A will she never had changed.  So by all rights, Falcon Crest should be OURS, not Richard's."

 

"Falcon Crest is still in the family, and that's all that matters.  Richard is your grandmother's son and my brother."

 

"But Grandma never trusted him.  Do you honestly think she would want Uncle Richard, out of her three children, owning and running Falcon Crest?  I think she'd rather crazy Aunt Julia have it than Uncle Richard."

 

"Angela, that's a terrible thing to say."

 

"Look, just hear me out.  I think the key to getting Richard to let go of Falcon Crest is his newfound grandson, Kyle."

 

"Well, I don't understand that at all,"  says Emma.  "How could Kyle possibly be the key to taking Falcon Crest away from Richard?"

 

"Maybe not by himself.  But with some help.  Do you know where Kyle's mother is?"

 

"Sydney?"

 

"That's the only mother he has, right?"  Angela asks, sarcastically.  "Yes, SYDNEY.  Do you still keep in touch with her?"

 

"I last heard from her about two or three years ago.  I got a Christmas card.  Why do you ask about her?"

 

"Because I think if we could get her here, and maybe get her involved in Kyle's search for his father, then that would distract Uncle Richard from business at Falcon Crest."

 

"So?  What would that do?"  Emma asks.

 

"I'm not sure yet.  Mom, I want you to give me the address Sydney sent that Christmas card from."

 

"Sweetheart, I told you, that was two or three years ago.  She may have moved since then.  Sydney never did like to stay in one place for very long."

 

"Well it's worth a try.  Do you still have the envelope that card came in?"

 

"Yes, I have it at the house in my photo box."

 

Angela smiles.  "Good.  As soon as we get home I want you to look for that card with her address."

 

"I don't know what you're up to, but this is bound to backfire,"  Emma says.

 

"Oh, for Heaven's sakes, Mother, can't you just ever trust me, just ONCE."

 

"Trust you?  You don't even have a plan for what you're gonna do when you contact Sydney."

 

"I don't have all the details ironed out, YET.  But I will.  Just please do as I say and get me that address when we get home.  Trust me, and I promise......in a couple of months, Falcon Crest will be ours again.  Just as Grandmother wanted it.  Now, our food's getting cold."

 

Emma Channing looks at her daughter and shakes her head in dismay.  

Falcon Crest....later....

Angela knocks on her mother's bedroom door at Falcon Crest later that afternoon.  Emma Channing opens the door and Angela rushes in, closing the door behind her.  "Mom, did you find the envelope with Sydney's address?"

 

"Yes, I did.  But Angela, I don't like this."

 

"Mother, you don't have to like it.  I know what I'm doing."

 

"What exactly ARE you going to do?"  Emma Channing asks.

 

"Maybe Sydney and her son can help keep Uncle Richard distracted for a while.  Them, and Lance insisting on working here at Falcon Crest.  He'll have more than he can handle, which will leave him vulnerable."

 

"Angela, Richard is my brother, and I don't like this."

 

"No one will get hurt, Mother.  But you didn't like the way Richard came to own Falcon Crest any better than I did.  So now is a chance to get back what is OURS.  And hopefully, Sydney will take Kyle back with her to wherever they came from, or at the very least, maybe they'll actually find Danny Sharpe and live happily ever after as a family.  Now excuse me, I have some work to do."  Angela smiles, kisses her mother on the cheek, then leaves the room.  After she's gone, Emma Channing shakes her head in frustration.

Later....

Angela is sitting on her bed, her laptop in front of her as she uses Sydney's address to look her up on the internet.  After several fruitless searches, she hits pay dirt and a smiles comes over her face.  "Bingo," she says quietly to herself.  "Sydney Lombardi Griffin, 1422 North Pritchard Avenue, Chicago, Illinois, 60619.  Well, Sydney Lombardi Griffin, why don't we just contact you and see if you have to say about what your son is up to."

The Harper farm near Texarkana, Texas....evening....

Austin, Josh, Kasey, and Corey are sitting on the sofa and love seat in the Harper living room that evening, finishing their dinner, while Brian stands by the window looking out at the waning light of day.  "Days are gettin' longer," he says.  "But they can never get long enough for me.  Wouldn't bother me one bit if it stayed daylight all the time, so you can see what's going on.  I hate the darkness.  The dark of night is a lot like life, isn't it?  So....... disorienting.  Confusing."

 

Austin and the three Harpers exchange looks, bewildered by Brian's bizarre ramblings, each of them wondering if Brian would flip out and go from being calm and reflective, to flying into a rage at any moment.

 

"You guys done with your dinner?"  Brian asks.  

 

"Uh, yeah, I think we are,"  Kasey replies.  

 

"Good.  You take the plates in the kitchen.  Just put them in the sink and come back in here."

 

Kasey gets up and does as she's told, collecting the dinner plates of Austin, Josh, Corey, and Brian's plate sitting on the coffee table.  She goes into the kitchen, and returns to the living room a moment later, retaking her seat on the sofa between her brothers.  

 

"Brian, how long do you think you can keep this up?"  Austin asks.

 

"Keep what up?"

 

"Look at you.  You're completely exhausted.  You get maybe a couple hours sleep every night, if that, while we're all locked in our rooms.  But do you even get those couple hours?  I hear you pacing around in here all hours of the night and morning.  Eventually, you're gonna crack."

 

"Just shut up, brother,"  Brian says.

 

"Why don't you just let these three kids go?"  Austin asks.  "I'll stay and be your hostage, but let them go.  Otherwise, you're gonna completely crack.  You're only human, and you can't keep going without sleep.  So let them go."

 

"Then what?  They run to the nearest farmhouse, or flag some car down on the road and call the cops?  You really think I'm THAT stupid, Austin?  I may be tired as hell, but I'm still on control of my brain. We're all just gonna stay right here for as long as we have to.  Until the heat's off and it's safe for me to leave."

 

"You think the heat will ever be off you?"  Josh asks.  "You're a wanted killer, man.  It's never gonna be safe for you."

 

Brian looks at Josh and points his gun at him.  "If you value your face, you'll shut the  hell up, you little punk."

 

"Better listen to him, Josh,"  says Austin.  "See how shaky his hands are?  That's from lack of sleep, and the stress he's under.  Don't give him any reason to get angry."

 

"You shut up, too,"  says Brian.  "Why the hell are you defending this little punk ass delinquent, anyway?  Did you forget that he had you out in those woods, forcing you to dig your own grave as he was planning to murder you in cold blood?  He would have if I hadn't stopped him.  I should've blown a hole in him right then and there and buried him in that hole he was gonna put you in."

 

"Umm, would you like some coffee or somethin'?"  Kasey asks Brian.

 

"Yeah, why don't you go make us a pot.  I could use some."

 

Kasey gets up from her seat and goes into the kitchen.  

 

Brian again looks at Josh.  "You know what I ought to do?   I ought to let my brother beat the hell out of you for what you were gonna do to him.  I'd enjoy that very much.  Wouldn't you, Austin?"  As Austin remains silent, Brian looks at him, annoyed by his brother's refusal to answer the question.  "WOULDN'T YOU, Austin?"  He asks, angrily.

 

"No."

 

"Why not?  The kid was gonna shoot you in the back and bury you in the woods.  You think he doesn't deserve to get his brains beaten out?  I do."

"Please,"  Corey says in tears.  "Don't hurt my brother."

 

"Don't worry, Corey,"  Austin says.  "He's not gonna hurt Josh."

 

"Oh?  You don't think so?"  Brian asks.

 

"No, I don't."

 

"Well maybe you're the one I should beat the hell out of.  Protecting a guy who was gonna murder you.  Do you know DISGUSTED that makes me?  Do you not have any guts, Austin?  Just what the hell kind of a man are you?  How can the two of us even be related, much less twin brothers?"

 

"I've been wondering that ever since the moment you barged into my life,"  Austin says.  

 

Brian laughs at his brother's comment.  "I barged  into your life.  That's nice.  Real nice."

 

"It's true.  My life was perfectly fine until you and Katelyn showed up."

 

"Oh, I'm sure it was,"  says Brian.  "Living in that great big mansion in Dallas.  Running Mommy's company.  Having a private jet at your disposal.  All that Wentworth money, all to yourself.  And then there was big brother Jonathon Lord.  Just like you, he was raised in the lap of luxury with all Daddy's money.  Must have been real nice.  Real nice, indeed.  Do you know what life was like for Katie and me while you and big brother were living the good life with our parents?  We had nothing, and I do literally mean NOTHING.  We had to fight for everything we got, which sure as hell wasn't much."

 

"You think my life was so glamorous?"  Austin angrily asks.  "Dude, I was raised by a mother who was on the run from the law my whole life.  I never stayed in one place long enough to even have any friends.  Mom and I were always looking over our shoulders, wondering if, at any time, she would be arrested.  I was 21-years-old before I had anything that resembled a normal life.  And then you showed up and destroyed that."

 

"Oh, you're just breaking my heart, brother,"  Brian says.  "At least all that time you were on the run, you never wanted for anything.......food, all the best clothes, more money than you could ever spend.  And, most of all you had our mother.  Not exactly June Cleaver, but, it's obvious she loved you.  She never gave a damn about me or Katie."  

 

Kasey returns to the living room with a cup of coffee.  "Coffee's ready," she says.

 

"Good.  Where's the pot?"  Asks Brian.  

 

"I left it on the stove so it'll stay warm."

 

"Well, you just keep it coming whenever I ask for it,"  Brian says.

 

"You know why Mom gave you and Katie up, don't you?"  Austin asks.  "It was because she loved you."

"Oh, don't give me that bull."

 

"She was trying to protect you from Jeremy."

 

"Who's Jeremy?"  Kasey asks.

 

"Mine and Austin's father, Jeremy Lord.  A billionaire."

 

"Wow,"  says Kasey.  "Must be nice havin' rich parents like that."

 

"I wouldn't know,"  Brian says.  "I never lived with either of my parents, and didn't grow up with money.  In fact I grew up poorer than you three here.  And not only that, the people who adopted me were sadistic bastards who took pleasure out of giving me and my sister pain, ESPECIALLY me.  I took not only her punishments but my own."

 

"They........beat you?"  Corey asks.

 

 Tears begin streaming down Brian's cheek.  "Yeah, kid, he beat me.  Almost every night.  Even if I didn't do anything wrong.  I could cough at the table, or just sniffle, and I'd get a back hand across the face.  I had to go through that hell, while my brothers lived like princes with our rich parents."

 

"You really expect us to feel sorry for you?"  Josh asks.  "You're nothin' but a cold blooded killer."

 

"And what does that make you?"  Brian asks.  "You were about to kill my brother and bury his body in those woods."

 

"I did what I did to protect my brother and my sister.  Can you say the same?"  

 

"Shut up.  Just shut the hell up at me,"  Brian says, rubbing his head, obviously so tired he can barely stay awake.  He takes a sip of his coffee, but it's so hot it burns him.  "Ouch, damn it!"  He yells, dropping the cup of coffee and shattering the glass on the floor.  "You did that on purpose!"  He says to Kasey.  "Burned my  mouth."

 

"No, I didn't, I swear," the girl says.  

 

"Get me another cup,"  Brian orders.  "And make sure this one isn't boiling hot."

 

"Yes,"  Kasey says, rushing into the kitchen.

 

"Hey, cutie,"  Brian yells to her.  "Bring some more cups.  I think we're all gonna just spend the night in here tonight.  I want us all to stay together, so we can have some nice conversation.  And so you all can't get together and plot some daring escape."

 

"Just how long you think you're gone be able to keep us out here?"  Josh asks.

 

"My answer is the same as it's been the numerous other times you people have asked me that stupid question .........we're gonna stay here as long as we have to.  I kinda like this little farm.  Has a nice feel to it.  A nice HOMEY feel.  But best part of all, it's isolated.  No one has been anywhere near this farm in all these months my brother has been here.  You kids don't even get mail here.  How'd you pull that off?  Staying out here all this time, and the folks in town don't even know you're here.  Austin, we picked the perfect place for that plane crash, didn't we?  Hey, cutie, where's that coffee?"

 

"Comin',"  Kasey says.  

 

"Just bring the pot, and some cups,"  Brian tells her.  

 

Kasey returns with the pot of coffee and five cups on a tray.  She looks at Brian, then places the tray down on the coffee table.  

 

"Now, pour us all a cup,"  Brian says.  

 

Kasey nods, then flashes a quick glance to Josh and then to Austin, and proceeds to pour the coffee.  She hands a cup to Josh and a cup to Austin.  "Y'all be careful now, it's hot."

 

"How about mine?"  Brian asks.

 

"Comin' right up,"  Kasey says.  The girl pours another cup.  Walking over to Brian, she gives him a seductive look and a smile, which he returns.  "Here.  Careful this time, it's real hot," she says.  

 

"Don't worry, I'll be careful,"  Brian says.  As he reaches out to take the cup of coffee, Kasey suddenly throws the hot coffee directly into his face.  Brian screams out in agonizing pain.  While he is disabled by the pain, Austin quickly leaps to his feet and rushes Brian, tackling his brother and grabbing the gun in his hand.  The two brothers fall over a chair and to the floor, wrestling for the gun, Brian putting up a good fight in spite of the burns to his face from the hot coffee.  

 

"KASEY, COREY!!!  RUN!!!"  Josh yells to his brother and sister.  

 

"KASEY, GET TO THE HIGHWAY AND FLAG DOWN SOME HELP!!!"  Austin yells as he continues to fight Brian for the gun.  

 

As Josh rushes over to help Austin get the gun from Brian's hand, Kasey and Corey run through the kitchen and to the back door of the farmhouse.  Suddenly, a single gunshot rings out from the living room.  The two siblings stop and look back.  "Corey, don't stop!"  Kasey tells her little brother.  "You run and you run like hell to the highway and flag down a car if you see one.  If you don't, then keep RUNNIN'!  GO!"  Corey runs out of the house and toward the long driveway and disappears into the darkness.    Kasey turns and runs back into the living room, where she sees a horrific scene.......her brother Josh is laying on the floor beside the sofa, blood gushing from a gunshot wound to his left shoulder.  Austin continues to wrestle Brian for the gun.  As Kasey screams and rushes to help her brother, Austin finally gets the better of Brian, shoving him against the wall.  Austin takes possession of the gun, but before he can even point it at him, Brian grabs a photo hanging on the wall and throws it at his brother, hitting Austin in the head.  Brian then rushes from the living room and down the front hall.  Austin chases after him and fires a shot, but misses as Brian runs out of the house.  Austin runs out after him, firing another shot, but again missing as Brian runs toward the woods.  

 

Austin returns to the living room and kneels beside Josh.  "How bad is it?"  Austin asks.

 

"He's bleedin' real bad,"  Kasey says in tears as she cradles her wounded brother in her arms.  

 

"Kasey, put pressure on his shoulder.  Try and  stop the bleeding, or at least slow it down.  Where's Corey?"

 

"I told him him to run like hell until he saw a car up on the road and flag it down.  Austin, I'm so scared.  What if that psycho finds him out there?"

 

Austin looks up, a worried expression on his face as he, too, is fearful that Brian could find Corey before the boy gets help.  And if he does, they are screwed since there are no phones in the house, and no way to communicate.

 

 

Meanwhile, Corey finally reaches the rural road.  The boy looks both ways, then sees the headlights of a car coming in the distance.  Catching his breath, Corey runs into the road to flag the car down.  Spotting the boy in the road, the driver slows down, then comes to a stop.  Inside the car is a man and a woman, both in their late 30s.  

 

"Kid, what's the big idea?"  The man asks, letting his window down.  "I almost hit you."

 

"Please, please help,"  Corey says, out of breath.  

 

"What is it, child?"  The woman asks.

 

"At my house.......down the road.  A guy had us.  He has a gun."

 

"David, call the police," the woman says.

 

"This could be a prank."

 

"Look at the child.  This is NO prank."

"Please, mister.  My brother and my sister are still in there,"  Corey says in tears.  

 

"Alright, get in,"  the man says.  He takes out his cell phone and dials 911 as Corey gets into the backseat of the car.  

Chicago, Illinois....

A phone begins to ring in a darkened room in an apartment in Chicago that night.  The sound of a door unlocking can be heard.  The door opens and a woman walks into the room, switching on the light as the phone continues to ring.  "Alright, I'm coming," the woman says.  She walks over and picks up the phone.  "Hello?"

Falcon Crest....

 

"Hi, yes, is this Sydney Griffin?"  Angela asks.

 

"Yes it is.  Who's calling, please?"

 

"Sydney, hi.  This is Angela St. James."

 

Chicago....

"Angela St. James?"  Sydney asks.  "Emma's daughter?"

 

Falcon Crest....

"Yes, that's right, Emma's daughter,"  replies Angela.  

 

"Oh my God, has something happened to Emma?"  

 

"No, no, nothing like that,"  says Angela.  "In fact, my mother is enjoying perfect health."

 

"Oh, that's good.  So, what can I do for you?"

 

"Well, my mother and I were actually talking about you today, and she was saying how much she would love to see you again after all these years.  And, as you probably know, her birthday is coming up next week, so, I was just thinking what a great surprise it would be if you came to Falcon Crest to visit her for her birthday."

Chicago....

"Well, I just don't know,"  Sydney says.  "I have a lot going on here right now, and I'm just not sure I can get away now."

 

"Well, it really would mean the world to my mother, and, you have a reason to visit the Tuscany Valley, anyway, since your son is here."

 

"What did you say?"  Sydney asks.  "My son Kyle is in the Tuscany Valley?"

Falcon Crest....

"Yes, he is.  You didn't know?"  Angela asks.

 

"No.  I had no idea."

 

"So, will you come?  Sydney it really WOULD mean the world to my mother.  And I'm sure Kyle would love having his mother here, too."

Chicago....

"Alright, yes.  I'll........I'll come,"  Sydney says.  "I'll get a flight out tomorrow."

 

"That's wonderful.  I won't tell my mother.  I want this to be a surprise.  And, if I happen to see Kyle, I won't tell him you're coming, either.  I'm sure he'll be both surprised and thrilled to see you.  And, why don't you let me book your flight and pay for it."

 

"No, that isn't necessary."

 

"But I want to,"  Angela says.  "It's my pleasure.  Your visit will be my birthday gift to my mother.  Do you have my number op caller ID?"

 

"Yes, I do."

 

"Good.  Save it in your cell phone and give me a call when you're on your way.  I'll have a car pick you up at the airport."

 

 

 

 

"Thank you.  Bye,"  Sydney says.  She puts the phone down, a look of curiosity on her face.  "Emma's daughter," she says softly to herself.  "What is it you REALLY want?"

 

 

 

 

Falcon Crest....

 

 

Meanwhile, in her bedroom back at Falcon Crest, Angela holds her phone in her hand, a look of satisfaction on her face.  "No, thank you, Sydney.  You don't know it yet, but you're going to help me in my quest to get Falcon Crest back from Richard, and help me get that son of yours out of town before he becomes a problem."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Harper Farm near Texarkana, Texas....

Later that night, the darkness around the Harper farm near Texarkana is illuminated by the flashing lights of several police vehicles as well as two ambulances.  Outside the farmhouse, police are questioning the couple who found Corey on the road, while on the front porch of the home, three other officers are questioning Kasey and Corey, both of whom appear to be in shock over the evening's tragic events.  The two siblings quickly get up from their seats and rush to the door as paramedics wheel their brother Josh out of the house on a stretcher.  

 

"Can we go with him?"  Kasey asks.

 

"Where are they takin' him?"  Corey asks.

 

"They're takin' your brother to the hospital,"  an officer replies.  "You'll be able to see him later."

 

"Is he gonna be alright?"  Kasey asks.

 

"I can't answer that, honey.  Right now, we need to finish askin' you two some questions."

 

"Please, we can't right now,"  Kasey says.  "Please let us go with Josh."

 

"Phil, I don't think it could hurt anything,"  another officer says.  "Let these kids go to the hospital with their brother.  They need to be checked out by a doctor, themselves.  We can ask all the questions we need to later."

 

"Alright, they can go."

 

"I'll drive 'em in myself,"  the other officer says.  

 

Kasey and Corey are led over to an awaiting patrol car.  As they are about to get in, Austin is brought out of the house by a uniformed officer.  They are approached by another officer on the front porch.  "Austin Wentworth, the police have been lookin' for you and your brother for quite some time now," the second officer says.  "Have any idea where your brother is?"

 

"As I told this other officer, he ran out of the house and toward the woods,"  Austin says.  

 

"Well, we got men all over this property and the surroundin' woods.  He can't get too far on foot.  We'll find him.  In the meantime, you have a number of charges to answer to, yourself, includin' aidin' and abettin' your brother in his escape."

 

"I didn't help him escape.  I told you, he kidnapped me!"

 

"If that's true, then we'll find out.  But I'm gonna have to take you in.  Hands behind your back.  Read him his rights."

 

Reluctantly, Austin does as he's told and puts his hands behind him.  The first officer places a pair of handcuffs on him.  "Austin Wentworth, you have the right to remain silent," the officer says, leading Austin to an awaiting patrol car.  Anything you say can and will be used against you in a court of law.  You have the right to an attorney.  If you cannot afford an attorney, one will be appointed to you by the court."  

 

A frightened Austin is placed into the back of an awaiting patrol car.  As he gets in, he exchanges looks with Kasey and Corey several feet away.  The kids watch sadly as Austin is placed into the back of the patrol car.  As the door closes on him, tears beginng running down Austin's cheek.  How did his life get this messed up?  He wonders to himself.  Austin's heart pounds with fear as the officer gets into the front of the patrol car and drives away, Austin wondering what was going to happen to him on the next chapter of this nightmare he can't seem to wake up from!

END OF EPISODE 31....

Write a comment

Comments: 8
  • #1

    Parker Bena (Monday, 23 April 2018)

    When are they going to catch Psycho Brian?

  • #2

    Ada Vincent (Monday, 23 April 2018 21:53)

    Great job got us on the edge of our seats

  • #3

    Chris Hawkins (Tuesday, 24 April 2018 10:13)

    John,

    Another great episode it really kept me wanting more! Excellent work!

    Chris

  • #4

    Jonah McMackins- JWP (Tuesday, 24 April 2018 14:25)

    A good return episode. I'm expecting Richard to break down and contest the will in order to get rid of Lance. I don't like Emma's daughter, just a couple of thoughts

  • #5

    Derek Mathews (Tuesday, 24 April 2018 18:08)

    Never was a Richard Channing fan for god sake! I just never like anybody who did the things he did. Declaring war on the Ewings, and taking to take down Cole Goberti while he's at it too.

  • #6

    CINDY T SHAFT (Tuesday, 24 April 2018 18:33)

    Love the episode and the coniving going on. Glad you are wrapping up Austins kidnapping. Hopefully you will finish up this years storyline before it goes on hiatus for the summer.

  • #7

    Nicola (Wednesday, 25 April 2018 01:30)

    When are we going to find out what’s happening to Jeremy Lord?

  • #8

    Julia Cherri (Saturday, 28 April 2018 13:43)

    I just found this episode and finished reading it. So excited to see what was happening at Falcon Crest. Still so many unanswered questions. So glad the police have finally found Austin and those children. Hope they find Brian before he hurts himself or someone else. I can't help but feel sorry for him, but I am still afraid of him and what he may do. Now to find Jeremy Lord! Sure hope that Richard will locate Katherine. Can't wait till she is found by police. She really has hurt so many people, like everyone she meets. Hope Angelia does not get Falcon Crest or any part of it. She is another one that is always plotting something that will hurt others. Makes it exciting though. Still wondering who that man is that is in the hospital. Could it be Kevin? What would Emma do if it was Kevin? She is going to have a lot of explaining to do as I feel sure that Elana is going to find out and tell everyone about the baby. So much going one and so many unanswered questions. Can hardly wait for the next episode. You did a wonderful job in writing this episode, John. Loved every bit of it from beginning to end. Thank you so much for all your hard work. We all love you John. May God Bless you always and keep you safe.