EPISODE 27 - A Tragedy In The Valley

Previously on FALCON CREST....

-----------------Both Emma Ryland and Richard returned home from Dallas.

-----------------Vicky, Jonathon, and Alex worried frantically about Jeremy's disappearance, unaware that he is languishing in a South American prison, thanks to Richard.

-----------------Chase decided to ask Lisa to represent him in his case to gain custody of his son with Courtney.

-----------------Kevin asked Emma Ryland to marry him as soon as possible, and Emma accepted.

-----------------Elena told Michael she wants a divorce.

-----------------Convinced that Richard was behind Jeremy's disappearance, a drunken Vicky showed up at Falcon Crest to confront him.  Kevin offered to take her home.

-----------------On his way back to Falcon Crest from taking Vicky home, Kevin stopped for gas, and picked up a young hitchhiker who attempted to rob him, but Kevin lost control of his car, which crashed and exploded!

 

 

Two ambulances and several police cars race down a rural road in the Tuscany Valley, their sirens blaring loudly and their lights flashing brightly, illuminating the night as they hurry to the scene of a fiery car crash.

 A moment later, the ambulance arrives at the scene of the crash, where two fire engines already sit along side of the road.  

Falcon Crest....

Meanwhile, less than half a mile away at Falcon Crest, Angie stands in the front doorway, with the door open, listening to the sounds of the sirens down the road.  Emma Ryland and Emma Channing both come down the stairs.

 

"I wonder what's going on,"  Emma Channing says.

 

"I don't know, Aunt Emma,"  Angie replies.  "I heard the sirens.  I can see the lights through the trees.  Must be a really bad accident or something. I heard something like an explosion earlier, then a few minutes later I came down here and heard the sirens."

 

"I hope Kevin will be able to get through and come home," Emma Ryland says.  

 

"Angela, too,"  Emma Channing says.  "She went out to dinner with friends tonight." 

 

"Hopefully, whatever it is, they'll have it cleared soon,"  Emma Ryland says.

 

"I just hope no one was seriously hurt or killed," says Emma Channing.

The Lord mansion....

Alex knocks on his mother's bedroom door, then walks in.  "Mom?"  He says, finding Vicky laying in bed.  

 

"Alex.  I'm sorry,"  Vicky says in tears.

 

Alex walks over to his mother.  "Mom, sorry for what?"

 

"Sorry that you had to see me this way."

 

"No, it's okay, Mom.  Why did you go to Falcon Crest?"

 

"I went to confront Richard Channing,"  Vicky replies.  "I know Richard had something to do with your father's disappearance, or at least he knows something about it."

 

"Mom, what makes you think so?"  Alex asks. 

 

"Because I KNOW Richard Channing.  Better than just about anyone.  I know what that man is capable of.  What he's done before."

 

"I thought you were sure Jonathon's mother, or even Dad's son Brian had done something to him."

 

"Maybe.  But even if that's the case, Richard knows something,"  Vicky says. "I feel it."

 

"Okay, Mom,"  Alex says.  "You get some sleep."

 

Vicky nods, then lays her head down on her pillow.  As she closes her eyes, Alex lovingly pulls the covers up to her shoulders, then leaves the room.  After her son is gone, Vicky opens her eyes again and begins crying.

Falcon Crest....

 

Back at Falcon Crest a short time later, the doorbell rings. Emma Channing, Emma Ryland, and Angie, all of who are sitting in the living room, walk into the foyer.

 

"Who could that be at this time of night?"  Emma Ryland asks.

 

"Maybe it's Kevin or Angela," replies Angie.  "Maybe one of them forgot their keys."  Angie goes to the door and opens it.  The women are surprised to see the Sheriff there.  "Sheriff Griffin,"  Angie says.

 

"Hello, Angie.  Is your father at home?"

 

"Yes, he is.  He's upstairs asleep.  Why?  What's wrong?"

 

"I need to see him."

 

"What's going on?"  Richard asks, coming down the stairs with Michael.  "Sheriff, what are you doing here?"

 

"I need to speak to you, Mr. Channing,"  replies Sheriff Griffin.  "I'm glad you're here also, Miss Ryland."

 

"Why?"  Asks a nervous Emma Ryland.

 

"Sheriff, is this about all those sirens?"  Angie asks.  "Has there been some kind of accident?"

 

"Yes, there has."

 

"Sheriff, if you have something to say, I'd appreciate if you'd just say it," Richard tells him.

 

"There was a terrible car accident just about half a mile up the road.  A car went off the embankment and crashed.  It was Kevin's car."

 

The woman gasp in shock as Richard and Michael exchange looks.  "How bad is he hurt?"  Richard asks.

 

"Mr. Channing......."  the Sheriff begins, his voice shaky.  "I'm sorry.  Your son is dead."

 

"NO!"  Emma Ryland cries.  "NO, no, that can't be!"

 

"Kevin's car went over the embankment, and crashed into a tree.  It exploded on impact.  There was a witness to the accident."

 

"Are you sure it's my brother's car?"  Michael asks.  

 

"Yes,"  replies Sheriff Griffin.  "The car was mostly destroyed in the explosion, but, the license plate......it was Kevin's."

 

"Maybe he had time to get out?"  Emma Channing says.

 

"No.  There was no time.  And.......they recovered a body from the accident."

 

"NOOOOO!!!!"  Emma Ryland screams.  Angie quickly embraces her as they both break down in tears.

 

"I wanna see,"  Richard says.  "I wanna see my son."

 

"No, Mr. Channing, you don't.  The body was burned beyond recognition."

 

"I wanna see my son,"  Richard says again, his voice shaky.  

 

"I'm coming to,"  Michael says.

 

Sheriff Griffin hesitates a moment, then nods.  "Alright.  Come with me."

 

"I'm coming,"  says a tearful Emma Ryland.

 

"No,"  Michael says adamantly.  "Emma, you don't need to do this.  Let Dad and I go."  Michael and Richard follow Sheriff Griffin out of the house as the three women embrace each other and cry, Emma Channing and Angie both trying to console a hysterical Emma Ryland.

 

A few minutes later....the scene of the accident

Richard and Michael arrive at the scene of the horrible accident with Sheriff Griffin.  "Let us through," Griffin says to the hordes of police, firefighters, and onlookers.  The three men make their way to the ambulance, where the body had been carried from the burned out car on a stretcher in a body bag.  "Mr. Channing, I advise against this," Griffin tells Richard.  "Seeing the body won't accomplish anything."

 

"Sheriff, I need to see for myself,"  Richard says.

 

"Alright,"  Griffin says.  He nods to one of the paramedics.  "Open it up," he says.

 

Reluctantly, the paramedic unzips the body bag, revealing a horribly burned corpse.  Even as burned as the corpse was, several blonde hairs on the head could be plainly seen.  

 

Richard and Michael both recoil in horror at the sight.  

 

"My son,"  Richard says in tear.  "Dear God...... my son."

 

 


 

"Kevin......no,"  Michael softly cries.

 

As Michael looks on in tears, Richard also begins to cry.  This is the first time Michael has seen his father cry since the death of his stepmother and Angie's mother, Richard's wife Lauren, several years before.  After several seconds to each process the tragedy on their own, Michael puts his arms around his father and the two men cry together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Gioberti home....the next morning

 

Cole and Joseph are having breakfast the next morning when Chase comes down the stairs and enters the kitchen.  "Morning," he says cheerfully, taking a seat at the table.  

 

"Morning,"  Joseph greets.

 

"Morning, son," says Cole.  

 

"You seem to be in a good mood this morning," Joseph says.  

 

"I am."

 

"Any particular reason why?  Last few days, since Courtney told you that you had a son, you've been walking around looking like you were ready to punch anyone in the face who even spoke to you."

 "Well, I made a decision,"  Chase says.  "Yesterday, I went to see Lance's daughter, Lisa Agretti.  You know she's an attorney, and I went to see her about representing me in a case to get custody of my son.  Lisa agreed to take my case.  I talked to Dad about it a couple days ago, and then I decided to go for it."

 

"That's a huge step, little brother,"  Joseph says.  "You sure you're ready to do that?"

 

"Yes, I'm sure."

 

"And what if, by some chance, you do win custody?" Joseph asks.  "Taking care of a child is a big responsibility, and you've never done that before."

 

"Joseph, I'm not a complete idiot.  I know what I'm doing.  I can learn how to be a father.  Besides, I had the best example on how to be a good one."

 

 

 Cole looks at his younger son and smiles.  "And I have no doubt that Chase will make a wonderful father.  Plus, he has the love and support of his family."

 

"What about Courtney's husband's family?"  Joseph asks.  "He's a Ewing, right?  A very rich, powerful family.  Even Richard Channing didn't win in court against them when Michael and Elena were trying to get custody of her son."

 

"The Ewings may be formidable, but they're not unbeatable,"  says Cole.  "The Giobertis can be pretty formidable ourselves."  The phone rings at that moment.  "I'll get it,"  Cole says.  He stands, walks over to the kitchen counter and picks up the phone.  "Hello?"  He says.  "Oh, hello, Emma, how are you?"  Cole listens to Emma Channing's words on the phone for a moment, then a look of complete shock comes over his face.  "Oh my God," he says.  "Yes.  Yes, I will.  Emma......thank you for calling.  Bye."  Cole hangs up the phone, the look of shock still on his face.

 

"Dad, what's wrong?"  Joseph asks.

 

"That was Emma Channing,"  Cole replies, his voice breaking as he struggles to hold back his tears.  "Kevin was killed in a car accident last night."

 

"What?"  Asks a stunned Chase.

 

"Oh, God,"  says Joseph.  

 

Chase stands and walks over to his father, putting his hand on Cole's shoulder.  "Dad, I'm so sorry."

 

Cole nods.  "I have to.......I have to go and tell Vicky before she hears this news some other way."

 

"I'll come with you,"  says Chase.  He looks at Joseph, then he and Cole leave.

The Lord mansion....a few minutes later

In her kitchen that morning, Vicky is mixing herself a rather disgusting looking drink in hopes of treating her hangover.  Once she is finished mixing, she holds her breath and takes a sip.  A look of pain on her face follows, as if she had just bitten into the most sour, worst tasting piece of fruit imaginable.  

 

Alex walks into the kitchen.  "Mom, what are you doing?"  He asks, seeing his mother drinking the nasty looking concoction.

 

"This is supposed to be good for hangovers,"  replies Vicky.  

 

"It looks REALLY gross."

 

"It is.  But, if it doesn't kill you, it'll definitely kill the hangover.  That's what a friend of mine I use to know would say, every time she tied one on.  She taught me how to make this crap."

 

"You feeling better this morning?"  Alex asks.

 

 

 

 

"I'm not gonna feel better until we know where your father is, and that he's safe,"  Vicky says as the doorbell rings.  

 

"I'll get it,"  Alex says.  

 

"Thanks, honey.  I don't really feel like seeing anyone this morning."

 

Alex walks through the dining room and into the foyer to answer the ringing doorbell, not realizing he is still only dressed in his underwear.  He opens the door to Cole and Chase.  "Oh, hey, Uncle Cole.  Chase."

 

"Alex, I need to see your mother,"  Cole says.  

 

A few seconds later, Alex returns to the kitchen, followed by his uncle and cousin.  "Mom, Uncle Cole and Chase are here."

 

"Well, hey, you two,"  Vicky says.  "You guys want some coffee?"

 

"No, thanks, Vicky,"  replies Cole.

 

"Cole, what's wrong?  I can tell something is by the look on your face."

 

"Vicky, I have some terrible news."

 

"Is it about Jeremy?  Have you heard something?"  Vicky asks.

 

"No, Vicky, I haven't heard anything about Jeremy,"  Cole says.  "This is about Kevin."

 

"What about Kevin?  He was just here last night."

 

"Kevin was here last night?"  Cole asks.

 

"Yes.  He drove me home after I went to see Richard at Falcon Crest.  Cole, what's wrong?"

 

"Vicky, I'm so sorry to have to tell you this.  Kevin was killed last night in a car accident, not far from Falcon Crest."

 

"What?  What did you just say?"

 

"Kevin's car went off the road and crashed.  He was killed, Vicky."

 

"Oh my God,"  says Alex.

 

"No,"  Vicky says.  "Cole, that can't be true.  It can't be.  Kevin was just here last night.  He drove me home."

 

"The accident must have happened when he was on his way back to Falcon Crest,"  Chase says.

 

"No, no no no no,"  Vicky cries.  "God, this can't be true.  It can't be."

 

"Vicky, I'm so sorry,"  Cole says, embracing his sister.  

 

"Why?"  Vicky cries.  "Why is all this happening?"  

 

As Cole tries to comfort a distraught Vicky, Alex and Chase also embrace each other.

Del Oro Spa and Health Club....

"Thank you,"  Elena says to the young waiter who has delivered her breakfast to her room at Del Oro that morning.

 

"You're welcome, Mrs. Channing.  Will there be anything else?"

 

"No, thank you,"  Elena replies.  The young man leaves, and Elena closes the door.  She picks up the remote control, switches on the television, then takes a seat to enjoy her breakfast.  As Elena prepares to eat, the news is on.  At first, she pays little attention to the news story of an international peace conference, but then, a local story comes on that catches her attention.

 

"And in local news,"  the TV anchor woman begins.  "A car accident occurred late last night on Spring Mountain Road, near the Falcon Crest winery.  One man was killed in the single car accident.  According to the Tuscany County Sheriff's Department, the victim apparently lost control of his car and overturned down an embankment, where the car burst into flames and exploded, according to a witness to the accident.  The victim, identified as 30-year-old Kevin Gioberti Channing, is believed to have died instantly.  Channing is the son of prominent business man Richard Channing, owner of Falcon Crest winery and vineyards."

 

 

 

 

 

Elena switches off the TV, her mouth open in shock.  "Dear God, no," she says.  "Kevin."

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Falcon Crest....later

The doorbell rings at Falcon Crest early in the afternoon.  Emma Channing comes into the foyer and opens the door to Julia, Lance, Eric, and Gabby.

 

"Oh, Julia,"  Emma Channing says, embracing her sister.

 

"Emma......I just can't believe it,"  Julia says.

 

"I know.  Neither can I.  Please, come in.  Lance, kids, I'm so glad you all came."

 

"I wasn't sure if I even wanted to,"  Lance says.  "But, I always loved Kevin.  Ever since he was a little boy."

 

"I know,"  Emma Channing says.  "It's all so hard to believe."

 

"How is the OTHER Emma doing?"  Lance asks.

 

"Not well.  She's very upset.  She had to take a sedative."

 

"How's Michael?"  Eric asks.  

 

"Michael is not taking it well at all.  Eric, a visit from you might help.  He's upstairs in his room."

 

"Thanks, Aunt Emma,"  Eric says, then he heads up the stairs.

 

"Emma, how is Richard?"  Julia asks.  "I know he has to be taking this extremely hard."

 

"He is, Julia.  I haven't seen Richard like this since........since Lauren died."

 

Meanwhile, upstairs, Michael is standing at his bedroom window looking out, as if at nothing, thinking about his brother, when a knock sounds at his door.  At first, Michael ignores the knock, then a second knock sounds.

 

"Michael, it's Eric.  Can I come in?"  Eric asks from outside.

 

Snapping out of his daydream, Michael walks over to his door and unlocks, then opens it, letting Eric in.  Without saying a word, Michael turns and walks to the other side of the room. 

 

Eric enters the room and closes the door.  "I'm really sorry about Kevin," he says.  Michael keeps his back to him and remains silent.  "Y'know, umm, if you'd like to talk, I'm here, man.  I'm a pretty good listener." Michael continues to say nothing, and Eric wonders whether his cousin is deliberately ignoring him, or if Michael is in some kind of shock over his brother's death.  "Michael, for what it's worth, I kinda know how you feel.  A year ago when I lost my Mom, I felt so lost.  So alone.  The pain cut so deep, it felt like it would never get any better. It still hurts, even now.  Just know that my offer stands, always.  I'll leave you alone now."  Eric starts to leave.

 

Finally, Michael turns around.  "Thanks, Eric," he says.

 

Eric stops and turns back to him.  "Yeah, man, no problem."

 

"I.......I don't really know what I'm feeling right now.  How I'm supposed to feel," says Michael.  "I've been through loss before.  I lost two mothers, Maggie and Lauren.  Lost Grandmother.  But this time, it's different.  Before, Kevin was always there to go through this stuff with me.  I never thought I'd be mourning my brother."

 

"I know, man,"  Eric says.  

 

"It's so unfair, Eric.  Why Kevin?  He was such a good person.  He didn't deserve this.  He didn't deserve to die so young.  He was 30-years old, and he was about to get married.  He has a little boy right down the hall. A little boy who'll never get to know his father.  It should've been me, Eric.  It should've been ME!"

 

"Come on, Michael, you don't really mean that,"  says Eric.

 

"Oh yes.  I do mean it.  Look at all the things I've done.  All the people I've hurt, including Elena.  Kevin was so much better than me." 

 

Eric walks over to him.  "I felt the same way.  After my Mom died in that explosion.  I was like, all the terrible things I'd done in my life.  The things I'd done to hurt and disappoint her.  She didn't deserve to die.  My Mom was one of the absolute best people I've ever known."

 

"Yeah, she was,"  Michael says.  "I vaguely remember when my Mom, Maggie, died.  My Dad was in prison, and it was Pilar who took care of Kevin and me.  Now they're both gone.  Two of the best people.  It doesn't make sense, man."

 

"Nothing in life makes much sense, Michael,"  says Eric.  "Maybe it's not supposed to.  Maybe we're not supposed to understand.  I guess if we understood everything that happened, why good people die, then we'd be on the same level as God."

 

Michael turns away from Eric and looks out the window.

Downstairs....

Emma Channing again goes to answer the ringing doorbell, this time to Elena.  

 

"Emma,"  Elena says, embracing her.  "I heard about Kevin. I'm so sorry."

 

"Elena, come in,"  Emma Channing says.  "I'm so glad you're here."

 

"How's Michael?"  Elena asks.

 

Emma begins to cry.  "He's not good.  None of us are.  I can't believe Kevin is gone."

 

"I know,"  says Elena.  "And, what about Emma Ryland?"

 

Emma Channing shakes her head.  "Poor thing.  She was hysterical.  She kept saying this was her fault."

 

"Her fault?  How so?"  

 

"I don't know.  She was so distraught I don't think the poor girl knew what she was saying."

 

"What about Emma's mother, Ann Ewing?  Has anyone called her?"

 

"No.  Oh my gosh, with everything going on, and everyone so upset, we forgot."

 

"I'll give Ann a call,"  Elena says.  "Having her here might help Emma."

 

"Thank you.  And, Elena.......after you've made the call, why don't you go upstairs and see Michael?  I think he needs you just as much as Emma needs her mother."

 

Elena looks at her and nods, then walks out of the house and onto the front porch.  She dials the number to Southfork Ranch in Texas on her phone.  After the second ring, someone answers.  "Yes, may I please speak with Ann Ewing.  Elena Channing.  Yes, I'll hold."  Almost a minute later, Ann Ewing comes on the phone.  "Hello, Ann.  I'm sorry to have to be the one calling you like this, but......I have some bad news.  I think you should come to California.  Emma needs you."

Upstairs.....Michael's room....

Michael continues to stare blankly out the window of his bedroom after Eric has left him.  Memories of his brother flood his mind.  Michael walks over to the table beside his bed and picks up a framed photo from the 

table and looks at it.  The photo is one of him, Kevin, and their father when they were very young.  Michael stares at the photo for a long time, then he lovingly touches Kevin's face in the photo.  His bottom lip begins to tremble.  "Kevin," he says quietly, almost in a whisper.  "How am I gonna get through this?  So many times we didn't see eye to eye, but you've always been here.  How can you be gone? You're my little brother.  I was supposed to go first, not you."  Michael's train of thought is interrupted by a knock at the door.  Michael ignores the knock and continues to stare at the photo in his hand.  The knock sounds again, then Elena slowly opens the door and walks in.

 

"Michael?"  She says.  "Can I come in?"

 

"Sure, why not,"  Michael says, sounding uninterested.  

 

Elena walks over to her him.  "Michael, I am SO sorry."

 

"Thank you."

 

"I know what you're feeling right now,"  Elena says.  "I remember what it felt like when I lost my brother, Drew.  It felt like the end of the world.  I wish that there was something I could say that would make you feel better, or take away your pain, but I know there's nothing that will.  Nothing but time."

 

"All I wanna do is go to sleep, and wake up and all of this be a horrible nightmare,"  Michael says.  "But I know that it's not.  I'm not gonna wake up and my brother be asleep down the hall."

 

"I know,"  Elena says.  "Michael, I just want you to know that I'm here for you."

 

"I appreciate that.  I just......I don't know what to do right now.  Or what to feel.  I keep thinking about the accident.  When the sheriff came and told us that Kevin had died in an accident right down the road, my Dad and I went down there.  We saw him, Elena.  I saw my brother's body and it was burned so badly that you couldn't even recognize him.  God, that must have been a horrible death.  The pain that he must have felt, I just......."

 

"Michael, don't,"  Elena says.  "Don't torture yourself like this."

Michael takes a seat on the bed and begins to cry.  "I only pray that it was quick.  That he died instantly and didn't feel any pain.  They said the car overturned when it went off the road, so, maybe he died from that."

 

Elena walks over to Michael.  "I'm sure that Kevin didn't feel any pain," she says in an attempt to comfort her husband.

 

Michael looks up at her, his eyes filled with tears.  Without saying a word, Elena takes a seat beside him on the bed, puts her arms around Michael, and holds him as he cries for his lost brother.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Lord mansion....that night

Cole brings a glass of wine over to Vicky and hands it to her.  "Thanks," she says.

 

"You're welcome."

 

"This is all my fault."

 

"Vicky, that's ridiculous.  What happened to Kevin is NOT your fault."

 

"Yes it is.  If I hadn't had too much to drink and gone to Falcon Crest to confront Richard, Kevin never would've had to drive me home, and he'd be alive right now."

 

"What happened was a terrible tragedy, Vicky,"  says Cole.  "But it's not your fault."

 

"Do you remember when Mom found out she was pregnant with Kevin?"  Vicky asks.  "We all thought the baby belonged to that monster who raped her."

 

"Yeah, Jeff Wainwright,"  says Cole.

 

"Dad wanted her to have a paternity test to find out who the father was.  But then Mom decided against it because she was afraid that if the baby turned out to be Wainwright's, she wouldn't want to keep it."

 

"I remember."

 

"It was Richard who helped Mom decide not to have the paternity test...."

"I sometimes wonder if Mom had had that test done sooner and found out that Dad was Kevin's father, if their marriage might've had a chance,"  Cole says.

 

"I've wondered that, too.  I resented Kevin for that for so long."

 

"Thank God Mom made the decision she made.  Or we wouldn't have had our little brother."

 

Vicky begins to cry.  "God, if only things had been different.  If only that son of a bitch Jeff Wainwright hadn't come into our lives, everything would've been different.  Dad would probably be alive right now, and Mom, too.  Mom and Dad probably would've stayed together, she never would've married Richard Channing.  But Jeff Wainwright wasn't the only one to blame.  Melissa was responsible for everything that happened to our family, too."

 

Cole embraces his sister.

A cemetery in the Tuscany Valley....two days later

 

As Richard, Michael, Angie, Emma Ryland, Cole, Vicky, their sons, various other family members, as well as Bobby and Ann Ewing listen, a priest delivers a very moving eulogy for Kevin:  "As we come here today in this place, we come to say our final earthly goodbyes to a young man each of us loved and cared for.  In some way or another, this young man touched the lives of every person gathered here today.  Kevin Gioberti Channing was born on February 20, 1987, and lived his entire life right here in the Tuscany 

Valley, and that life was never an easy one. I've often heard the story of how Kevin came into the world.  According to the story, his mother, Maggie, went into labor very suddenly, and the nearest place for her to go was Falcon Crest.  Maggie gave birth to Kevin on the living room floor of the mansion, right on Angela Channing's best rug.  And any of you who may have known


Kevin's grandmother, Mrs. Channing, can probably imagine her reaction to a woman giving birth on her favorite, very EXPENSIVE rug."  The minister's story elicits a small rumble of laughter through the crowd of mourners.  He continues:  "Shortly after Kevin was born, his biological father, Chase Gioberti, died.  But thankfully, Richard Channing stepped into the role of father for Kevin.  But sadly, when Kevin was still very young, he lost his dear mother, Maggie, in a tragic accident.  Shortly after Maggie's death, his father Richard married Lauren Daniels, who adopted and cared for Kevin and his older brother Michael as if they were her own sons.  But once again, tragedy took Lauren from Kevin's life.  But despite all of these tragedies......despite having lost not only his biological father, but two mothers by his early twenties, Kevin never became bitter.  He never allowed these 

profound losses to define who he was.  Instead, he overcame the loss and sadness to become a kind and loving young man who cared for his family and his friends very deeply.  Kevin was a loving son to Richard. A loving brother to Michael, Angie, Cole, and Victoria.  But more important than anything, Kevin was a loving partner 

to Emma and father to Logan.  I had the chance to speak with Kevin not too long ago about his son, and, having known this young man for much of his life, I can tell you that Kevin had been the absolute happiest I have ever seen him since this precious little boy came into his life.  Kevin had always wanted to be a father, and finally, he had his chance.  As much as each of us will miss having Kevin Channing in our lives, perhaps the 


most tragic thing about Kevin's passing is that he never got to BE a father to his son.  Logan is only a few months old, and will never have the opportunity to know his father, but one thing we can all be sure of is that Kevin will be watching over his son.  Emma, no words that I or anyone else can say here today will ease the pain of your loss.  But it is my prayer that God will wrap His comforting arms around you, your son, and the rest of Kevin's family not only in this time of sorrow, but in the days, weeks, and months to come....."

Later....

 

 

A short time later, the service is over, and Cole is walking Vicky back to her car, accompanied by Chase and Alex.  

 

"Vicky, if you want, I could stay with you and Alex for a while," Cole says.  

 

"Thank you, Cole, but, we'll be fine,"  Vicky says.  

 

"Any news yet from Jeremy?"  Chase asks.

 

"None at all,"  replies Vicky.  "And I'm getting more worried by the day."

 

"What else could happen?"  Alex asks.  "First Dad disappears, and then Kevin dies.  It's like a nightmare."

 

Vicky suddenly stops walking and looks to her left. 

 

"Vicky, what is it?"  Cole asks.

 

"Mom, are you okay?"  Alex asks.

 

"Richard,"  Vicky says.  "I think for the first time ever, I feel really bad for him. No matter his faults, Richard really loved Kevin like his own son.  I think I wanna say something to him."

 

"Okay, we'll go with you,"  says Cole.  He, Chase, and Alex walk with Vicky over to where Richard is standing, shaking hands with people who have come to pay their respects.  Michael, Elena, Angie, and Angela are standing nearby.

 

"Richard,"  Vicky says, walking up behind her former stepfather.  He slowly turns to face her.  "Richard, I just want you to know how very sorry I am.  I know we've had our differences over the years, but, one thing I do know is that you truly loved Kevin."

 

 

 

"You've got a hell of a lot of nerve showing your face here today," says an angry Richard.  "You're the cause of this."

 

"What?"  Vicky asks.

 

"If it hadn't been for you, Kevin never would've gone out the other night, and he'd be alive today.  YOU did this.  YOU killed my son!"

 

 

 

 

"Alright, Channing, you need to BACK OFF!"  Cole angrily says.

 

"How dare you talk to my Mom like that," Alex says.

 

"I'm only saying what's true.  You did this, Vicky, and I want you to live with that for the rest of your life."

 

Deeply hurt by Richard's harsh verbal attack, Vicky turns and walks away, followed by Alex and Chase.

 

"Richard, I know you're grieving right now," Cole says.  "But if you EVER speak to my sister like that again, I swear........I'll flatten you."

 

"You just get your sister out of my sight,"  Richard says, then turns and walks away as Michael, Elena, and Angie look on.  

 

 

Meanwhile, Chase and Alex have taken Vicky to her car when Cole walks over.  

 

"Vicky, are you okay?"  Cole asks his sister.

 

"No.  Just get me home," she replies in tears.  "I have to get out of here."

 

"Alright, let's go,"  Cole says.  He opens the passenger door of Vicky's car and she gets in.  "We'll see you at the house,"  Cole tells Alex before his nephew gets into the driver's side of Vicky's car.  Alex nods to his uncle, then gets into the car.  Cole watches as his sister and nephew drive away from the cemetery in Vicky's gray Nissan Pathfinder.  

Meanwhile, Lance, Eric, and Gabby walk up to Emma Ryland, who is standing near the casket with her mother Ann Ewing and Ann's husband, Bobby.  "Emma, I'm so sorry about Kevin,"  Eric says.  "He was a good guy."

 

"Thank you, Eric."

 

"Emma, if you need anything, don't hesitate to call,"  Lance says.

 

"Thank you, Lance, I appreciate that."

 

"Emma,"  Gabby says, hugging her.

 

"Thank you for coming,"  Emma Ryland says, tears now streaming down her face.

 

Ann puts her arm around her daughter.  "Emma, I want you to come back to Southfork with us for a while," she says.  

 

"I don't know.  I really don't wanna leave Kevin's family right now."

 

"Emma, I think your mother's right,"  Bobby says.  "You need to be with your family."

 

Emma nods, then begins crying as Ann embraces and comforts her.

 

As Lance, Eric, and Julia head to Lance's car, Gabby walks over to meet Nick.

 

"Hey,"  Nick says to her.  "You okay?"

 

"I just can't believe Kevin is really gone,"  Gabby says.  "He was so young, and he and Emma just had a baby.  It's so unfair."

 

"I know,"  Nick says, putting his arm around her.


 

As the crowd at the cemetery begins to disperse and leave, Richard stands alone at his son's casket, looking at the casket and the flowers on top, a blank look on his face.  Emma Channing and her daughter Angela walk up to him. "Richard,"  Emma Channing says, putting her hand on her brother's shoulder.  "Is there anything I can do for you?"

 

"Thank you, Emma, but no.  There's nothing anyone can do."

 

Bobby and Ann Ewing walk up to them with Emma Ryland.  "Richard,"  Ann says.  "We're so sorry about Kevin.  He was a fine young man."

 

"Channing, despite the differences that we've had, you have my deepest sympathies,"  Bobby says.

 

Richard nods.  "Thank you.  And thank you for coming."

 

"Richard, we're gonna be takin' Emma and Logan back to Dallas with us for a while,"  says Ann.  

 

"What?  Why?"  Richard asks.  "Emma, I was really hoping to have my grandson close, especially now."

 

"It would only be for a little while,"  Emma Ryland says.

 

"Emma needs to be with her family right now,"  says Ann.  

 

"Fine.  But Emma, I hope that you won't be staying in Dallas for long.  And I hope you know that you will always have a home at Falcon Crest.  I'd like for my grandson, Kevin's son, to grow up there."

 

Emma looks at him for a second.  "It's way too early for me to make any decisions yet.  But I will be back to Falcon Crest soon," she says as Michael and Elena walk over to them.

 

"Bobby, Ann, how are you?"  Elena asks.

 

"We're fine,"  Ann replies.  

 

"Emma, is there anything you need?"  Elena asks.

 

"No.  Thank you.  I'm gonna be going back to Southfork for a while with my mother and Bobby."

 

"For how long?"  Michael asks.

 

"I'm not sure,"  Emma replies, then walks away with Bobby and Ann.

 

Michael walks over to the casket and gently touches it.  After giving him a moment to himself, Elena approaches him.  "Michael," she says.  

 

"Let's get out of here," he says, turning to face her.  "That is, unless you're going back to the spa."

 

Elena shakes her head.  "No.  I meant what I said the other day.  I'm back at Falcon Crest for as long as you need me.  Whatever problems we had.........whatever anger I felt over what happened with Josh McQueen........none of that matters right now.  What matters is that we get through this tragedy together, as a family.  Everything else, we can deal with later."

 

Michael looks at his wife, then takes her hand.  Together, Michael and Elena leave as Richard watches them, a stricken look on his face.  He wonders how he will survive this terrible loss.  As he watches Michael and Elena, Richard feels the vibration of his phone in his pocket.  He takes the phone out and looks at the text message he has just received.  His facial expression turns from one of intense emotional pain to one of calm after reading the text.

A road near Falcon Crest.....that night....

 

 

Richard drives his car down a lonely, deserted road not far from Falcon Crest late that night.  He hesitates for a few seconds, then gets out of the car and looks around. Finally, he hears someone approaching him from behind.  He turns around to find Katherine standing there.  

 

"Richard," she says, walking up to him.  

 

"Hello, Katherine.  What are you doing here?  You shouldn't have come.  It's far too risky."

 

"Richard, when I heard about Kevin, I had to come,"  Katherine says.  "I only wish I could've been there for you today.  But I was watching you."

 

"You were at the cemetery?"  Richard asks.

 

"Yes.  I was watching from a distance.  How I wanted to hold you."

 

"It's good to see you now,"  Richard says, embracing her.  "Are you alright?"

 

"I'm fine,"  Katherine says.  "Just worried about you.  And about my sons."

 

"What?"  Richard asks.

 

"I've checked.  Austin and Brian left Dallas days ago, the night you and Jeremy arrived, and they were headed for Monaco.  They never arrived.  The Wentworth jet never arrived."

 

"Could they have landed some place else?  Or been diverted?"

 

"I don't know.  Me being on the run like this, I can't investigate.  There's no one I can call to find out."

 

"Alright.  I'll take care of it,"  Richard says.  

 

"Richard, I can't ask it of you.  Not when you're going through the loss of a child."

 

"It's fine," Richard says. "I need something to keep me distracted or I'll lose my mind.  And helping you, will help me.  So I'll check into it."

 

"Richard, thank you,"  Katherine says, hugging him again.  "I've been so worried."

 

"It's alright," he says.  "I'll find out what happened."  As Richard holds his wife in his arms, his thoughts return to his son, and the void left in his heart by losing Kevin.

Falcon Crest....

In the nursery at Falcon Crest, Emma sits in a rocking chair holding her infant son, Logan Chase, gently rocking the baby to sleep.  She looks down at the infant in her arms, and she manages a smile as her mind flashes images

of Kevin.  For a moment, Emma closes her eyes and she is transported in her mind, and she feels almost as if she is actually in Kevin's presence, as if she can reach out and touch him.  After a while, she opens her eyes and again looks down at her son, who is now asleep.  Emma begins to cry.  "Kevin," she says in tears.  "I'm so sorry.  I'm so sorry I lied to you.  But I promise you. I will do everything in my power to make sure that no one ever finds out the truth.  Logan Chase will be raised as your son.  To know that he's your son. And I promise I'll tell him all about you.  About what a wonderful man his father was."  Gently, Emma stands with the baby and carries him to his crib.  She places the baby in the crib, then makes sure he is safely tucked in.  After staring at her son for a while, Emma exits the nursery and goes next door to the bedroom she shared with Kevin.  It was getting late, but Emma still had a lot to do.  She had to pack since she was leaving for Dallas tomorrow with Ann and Bobby.  Entering the bedroom, Emma's eyes fall on a framed photo of Kevin sitting atop the mantle across the room. Tears in her eyes, Emma walks over to the photo

 and looks at it.  "You're so handsome," she says, touching the frame.  "So handsome, and so good.  You were so much better than what I deserved.  I love you so much, Kevin Channing, and I always will."  Emma picks the photo up and kisses Kevin's face, then hugs the photo to her chest as she cries.


Meanwhile....a hospital somewhere....

A nurse wearing scrubs and a surgical mask walks into a darkened room in a hospital somewhere.  A male doctor, also dressed in scrubs and wearing a mask, stands over the bed of a patient.

 

"How is he, Dr. Brown?"  The nurse asks.  "Any change?"

 

"No.  He's suffering from severe shock."

 

"Do you think he'll make it?"

 

"I can't say,"  the doctor replies.  "The delay in getting him to the hospital may hurt his chances.  Someone with such severe injuries should have been treated right away."

 

"I'm absolutely amazed that he even survived,"  the nurse says.  "And the fact that he was found wandering around, is just......"

 

"I know,"  says the doctor.  "Let's just hope that we can keep him alive long enough for his body to begin fighting for him.  Right now, with those burns, my main concern is infection, especially since he was exposed to the elements for so before that good samaritan found him and got him to the hospital."

 

"It's very sad that we have no idea who he is,"  the nurse says.  "His family is probably worried sick about him, if he has any."

 

"I know.  But, he had no I.D. on him when he was found.  Hopefully, he'll wake up soon and be able to tell us who he is.  Right now, let's get out of here.  What this patient needs most now is rest and quiet."  

 

The nurse nods, then she and the doctor quietly leave the room of the mystery patient, who lays in bed, bandaged 

from head to toe, unconscious and barely alive!

END OF EPISODE 27....

 

                                              ALSO STARRING

 

CAMERON DALLAS

                            as Alex Lord

 

SHELLEY HENNIG

                            as Angie Channing

 

DANIELLE CAMPBELL

                            as Gabby Cumson

 

CHARLIE ROWE

                           as Nick Fairchild

 

COLIN FERGUSON

                           as Sheriff Griffin

    

         Special Guest Stars

PATRICK DUFFY

                           as Bobby Ewing

 

BRENDA STRONG

                           as Ann Ewing

 

            And

MORGAN BRITTANY

                           as Katherine Wentworth Channing

Write a comment

Comments: 8
  • #1

    Chris Hawkins (Monday, 16 October 2017 08:14)

    Wonderfully written, I really liked the ending, hopefully it's Kevin! Another great episode!

    Chris

  • #2

    Ada Vincent (Monday, 16 October 2017 11:32)

    Great job as usual

  • #3

    Janie Fleischer (Monday, 16 October 2017 21:16)

    John this was a very touching episode you nailed it all. Thank you so much for all your hard work love you John Walden

  • #4

    Derek Mathews (Wednesday, 18 October 2017 09:45)

    It seems that everybody loved Kevin Channing in this episode, and the fact that he is supposedly dead is awful. But if he is supposedly dead, who is the person wrapped up in all those bandages? Anyway, this is just like Dallas when Christopher Ewing was supposedly dead, and he was in protective custody from the CIA all along to draw out Nicholas Trevino. I think Kevin Channing just barely survived, and he's wrapped up in those bandages. We will see what happens!

  • #5

    Derek Mathews (Wednesday, 18 October 2017 09:52)

    Katherine Wentworth, you and your criminal children are going to get what's coming to you. Bobby would be livid if you knew you were watching from a distance after trying to kill his wife. Then your daughter developed a fatal attraction with Jimmy Beaumont, and ended up kidnapping him. Both of y'all tormented him every chance you got. Katelyn tasered him, drugged him, and physically, mentally, and emotionally traumatized and abused him every she got. She lost touch with reality, no doubt about it.

  • #6

    Derek Mathews (Wednesday, 18 October 2017 10:03)

    Glad to see Micheal and Richard have some feelings, and not act like macho tough guys all the time. That shows they both really love Kevin Channing, who is their brother and son. I think they would be in absolute shock if they found out that Kevin Channing was still alive, everybody would!

  • #7

    Julia Cherri (Wednesday, 18 October 2017 15:43)

    Another great episode, John. I felt like I was right there with each of them throughout the entire chapter. You never fail to amaze me with your stories. I love all of them and I thank you so much for all your hard work. Still so many questions to be answered. Will be patiently waiting for next week's episode. May God Bless and Keep you Safe Always.

  • #8

    Bobby (Thursday, 14 June 2018 12:26)

    Why do I get the feeling that if it turns out to be Kevin, then the plastic surgery I'll end up making him look somewhat different, perhaps to justify a possible recasting of the role a la Steve Carrington on Dynasty when he went from Al Corley to Jack Coleman?